One World
Nations Online

Home  Earth  Continents Countries of Africa

___ Countries of Africa


Lake Victoria, Africa's largest lake
Lake Victoria, Africa's largest lake is one of the African Great Lakes, it has a shoreline of 4,828 km. Three countries share the lake: Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania.
Image: Simisa


Some Facts about Africa

Africa is the second-largest continent in the world in both, area and population. It is an almost entirely isolated landmass, there is only a small land bridge in north east connecting Africa with Western Asia.

Area: about 30,244,000 km² (11,700,000 mi²) including its adjacent islands it covers about 20 percent of Earth's total land area. The area of Mainland Africa is shared by 48 countries, plus six island nations (see list below).

Population: 1.1 billion human inhabitants, about 14 percent of the world's population (in 2016). By far the most populated country is Nigeria with 185 million people.
(Source: UN 2015 Revision of World Population Prospects)

Highest Point: Mount Kilimanjaro, Uhuru Peak on the volcano Kibo, 5 895 m (19 340 ft) in Tanzania.

Largest Lake: Lake Victoria or Victoria Nyanza; 68,870 km², shared by Uganda, Kenya, and Tanzania.

Longest River: Nile; 6 695 km, the river flows through eleven countries.

Languages of Africa: about thousand languages classified in four major language families:
Afro-Asiatic (e.g. Berber language), Nilo-Saharan, Niger-Congo (Bantu), and Khoi-San.

Related Categories:
Relief Map of Africa
Political Map of Africa
Map of North Africa, the Middle East, and the Arabian Peninsula
 Map of West Africa
Google Earth Map of Africa
Searchable Maps of Countries and Capital Cities of Africa
Flags of Africa
Capital Cities of Africa

keywords: countries of Africa, population of Africa, destination Africa, travel Africa, capitals Africa, Central Africa, North Africa, Southern Africa, East Africa
Elephants at Mount Kilimanjaro
Elephant herd at Amboseli National Park with Mount Kilimanjaro in background, Tanzania.
Image: Amoghavarsha

Bookmark/share this page

Political Map of Africa
Political Map of Africa

List of African Countries

(as used by the United Nations when categorizing geographic subregions)

Eastern Africa

  Country Population Maps Capital City
Burundi 10,114,000 Burundi Map Bujumbura
Comoros 770,000 Comoros Map Moroni
Djibouti 850,000 Djibouti Map Djibouti
Eritrea 6,000,000 Eritrea Map Asmara
Ethiopia 90,000,000 Ethiopia Map Addis Ababa
Kenya 46,050,000 Kenya Map Nairobi
Madagascar 21,842,000 Madagascar Map Antananarivo
Malawi 14,800,000 Malawi Map Lilongwe
Mauritius 1,286,000   Port Louis
Mozambique 25,728,000 Mozambique Map Maputo
Réunion (France) 816,000 Réunion Map Saint-Denis
Rwanda 11,533,000 Rwanda Map Kigali
Seychelles 92,000   Victoria
Somalia 12,316,000 Somalia Map Mogadishu
Tanzania 50,143,000 Tanzania Map Dodoma, Dar es Salaam
Uganda 34,856,813 Uganda Map Kampala
Zambia 15,933,883 Zambia Map Lusaka
Zimbabwe 14,240,000 Zimbabwe Map Harare

Central Africa (Middle Africa, or also Equatorial Africa)

  Country Population Maps Capital City
Angola 24,383,300 Angola Map Luanda
Cameroon 24,000,000 Cameroon Map Yaounde
Central African Republic 5,000,000 Central African Republic Map Bangui
Chad 13,679,000 Chad Map N'Djamena
Congo, Rep. (Brazzaville) 4,043,000 Congo, Rep. Map Brazzaville
Congo, Dem. Rep. (Kinshasa) 71,200,000 Congo, Dem. Rep. Map Kinshasa
Equatorial Guinea 1,222,000 Equatorial Guinea Map Malabo
Gabon 1,505,000 Gabon Map Libreville
São Tomé and Príncipe 178,700   São Tomé

Northern Africa or North Africa

  Country Population Maps Capital City
Algeria 40,400,000 Algeria Map Algiers
Egypt 92,467,000 Egypt Map Cairo
Libya 6,317,000 Libya Map Tripoli
Morocco 33,656,000 Morocco Map Rabat
South Sudan 8,260,490 see: Sudan Map Juba
Sudan 38,435,000 Sudan Map Khartoum
Tunisia 11,299,400 Tunisia Map Tunis
Western Sahara 587,000 see: Mauritania Map (El Aaiún)

Southern Africa

  Country Population Maps Capital City
Botswana 2,230,000 Botswana Map Gaborone
Lesotho 2,171,000   Maseru
Namibia 2,300,000 Namibia Map Windhoek
South Africa 55,653,000 South Africa Map Pretoria, Bloemfontein, Cape Town
Swaziland 1,400,000 Swaziland Map Mbabane, Lobamba

Western Africa

  Country Population Maps Capital City
Benin 10,008,000 Benin Map Porto-Novo, Cotonou
Burkina Faso 19,034,397 Burkina Faso Map Ouagadougou
Cape Verde 525,000 Cape Verde Map Praia
Côte d'Ivoire (Ivory Coast) 22,700,000 Ivory Coast Map Yamoussoukro, Abidjan
Gambia, The 1,882,000 see: Senegal Map Banjul
Ghana 28,300,000 Ghana Map Accra
Guinea 10,629,000 Guinea Map Conakry
Guinea-Bissau 1,530,673 Guinea-Bissau Map Bissau
Liberia 4,300,000 Liberia Map Monrovia
Mali 16,313,000 Mali Map Bamako
Mauritania 3,537,000 Mauritania Map Nouakchott
Niger 17,138,000 Niger Map Niamey
Nigeria 183,500,000 Nigeria Map Abuja
Saint Helena (UK) 4,500   Jamestown
Senegal 14,800,000 Senegal Map Dakar
Sierra Leone 6,200,000 Sierra Leone Map Freetown
Togo 7,143,000 Togo Map Lomé

Population Sources see:  Population by Country
A List of up-to-date population figures from the most to the least populated countries in the world.

Related Categories:
World Population
List of population figures of the most populated countries, and the most densely populated countries in the world.

More about Africa:

Political Map of Africa
Relief Map of Africa
Map of North Africa, the Middle East, and the Arabian Peninsula
Google Earth Map of Africa
Searchable map and satellite view, find any place in Africa.
Flags of Africa
Languages of Africa
Capital Cities of Africa

Other Continents:

The Americas





Benin dwelling
Benin dwelling

Lioness near Nairobi
Lioness close to Nairobi

Royal Granary, Mali
Royal Granary, Mali