Home Earth Continents Africa Mozambique Profile Mozambique Map

Index of Countries
Index of Maps

___ Political Map of Mozambique

Mozambique is a country on the eastern coast of southern Africa bordered by the Mozambique Channel and the Indian Ocean in east. Border countries are Malawi, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe, it shares maritime borders with the Comoros, Madagascar and Mayotte Island (France).

Mozambique occupies an area of 801,590 km², compared it is somewhat larger than three times the size of the United Kingdom or slightly less than twice the size of the U.S. state of California.
The Zambezi river cuts through the country dividing it into two topographical regions. Highest point of Mozambique is the peak of Monte Binga (Mount Binga) 2,436 m, located on the border between Zimbabwe and Mozambique .

Mozambique has a population of 23,700,000 (official estimate INE 2012); capital and largest city is Maputo.
Spoken languages are Portuguese (official) and Bantu languages.

The detailed map below is showing Mozambique and the surrounding countries with international borders, provinces boundaries, the national capital, provinces capitals, major cities, main roads, railroads and airports.

Provinces of Mozambique
Mozambique is divided into ten provinces (provincias) and one capital city (cidade capital) with provincial status, namely (with capitals in brackets): Cabo Delgado (Pemba) | Gaza (Xai-Xai) | Inhambane (Inhambane)| Manica (Chimoio) | Maputo (city) | Maputo | Nampula (Nampula) | Niassa (Lichinga)| Sofala (Beira) | Tete (Tete) | Zamézia (Quelimane)

You are free to use this map for educational purposes, please refer to the Nations Online Project.
Mozambique Flag

Bookmark/share this page

Nations Online Logo
One World - Nations Online
All Countries of the World

Political Map of Mozambique
Political and Administrative Map of Mozambique

Map based on a UN map. Source: UN Cartographic Section
Cities and Towns of Mozambique

The map shows the location of following Mozambican cities and towns.

Major cities or towns are:
Maputo forms, together with its largest suburb Matola, the largest urban area in the nation.
Beira is the second most populous city,
other major cities are: Nampula, Chimoio, Nacala, Quelimane, Mocuba, Tete, Xai-Xai, Gurúè (Vila Junqueiro),

Ancuabe, Angoche, , Bela Vista, Boane, Changara, Chemba, Chibabava, Chibito, Chiconono, Chicualacuala (Vila Eduardo Mondlane, formerly Malvérnia), Chinde, Cuamba, Dondo, Erego, Espungabera, Fíngoè, Furancungo, Gile, Guija, Guro, Homoine, Inhambane, Inhaminga, Inharrime, Inhassoro, Lichinga, Lugela, Mabote, Macia, Magude, Magué, Mandimba, Manhiça, Manica, Manjacaze, Mapai, Marromeu, Marrupa, Massinga, Massingir, Maúa, Meconta, Mecubúri, Mecula, Memba, Metangula, Milange, Moamba, Moatize, Mocimboa da Praia, Moçambique, Mogincual, Moma, Monapo, Montepuez, Mopeia, Morrumbala, Morrumbene, Mossuril, Mueda, Murrupula, Namaacha, Namacurra, Namapa, Namarrói, Nametil, Namuno, Nova Mambone, Palma, Panda, Pebane, Pemba, Quissanga, Quissico (Zavala), Ribáuè, Sussundenga, Velha, Vila Coutinho, Vila da Maganja, Vila Fontes, Vila Gamito, Vilanculos, and Zumbo.
More about Mozambique:

Satellite View and Map of Maputo (capital city)

Satellite View and Map of Mozambique

Mozambique Country Profile

Map of Africa
Political Map of Africa
Political Map of West Africa
Political Map of North Africa
Google Earth Map of Africa

 Countries of Africa
Capitals of Africa
Flags of Africa
Languages of Africa
Maputo Current Weather Conditions

Explore More:

Related Consumer Information:


Maps of other Countries in East Africa
Burundi Map | Comoros Map | Djibouti Map | Eritrea Map | Ethiopia Map | Kenya Map
Madagascar Map | Malawi Map | Réunion Map | Rwanda Map | Somalia Map | Tanzania Map
Uganda Map | Zambia Map | Zimbabwe Map

Interactive Maps of other Countries in East Africa
Burundi Interactive Map | Comoros Interactive Map | Djibouti Interactive Map | Eritrea Interactive Map
Ethiopia Interactive Map | Kenya Interactive Map | Madagascar Interactive Map | Malawi Interactive Map
Mauritius Interactive Map | Réunion Interactive Map | Rwanda Interactive Map
Seychelles Interactive Map | Somalia Interactive Map | Tanzania Interactive Map | Uganda Interactive Map
Zambia Interactive Map | Zimbabwe Interactive Map

Major Cities in East Africa
Addis Ababa, Antananarivo, Asmara, Bujumbura, Dar es Salaam, Djibouti, Dodoma, Harare, Kampala, Kigali,
Lilongwe, Lusaka, Maputo, Moroni, Mogadishu, Nairobi, Port Louis, Victoria, Zanzibar

One World - Nations Online .:. let's care for this planet
Every nation is responsible for the current state of our world.
Site Map | Information Sources | Disclaimer: Privacy Policy, etc.
Contact: [email protected] | Copyright © 1998-2019 :: nationsonline.org