Sudan Flag detail
Home Earth Continents Africa Sudan Country Profile Map of Sudan

Maps Index

Map of Sudan

The pyramids of Meroë in Nubia (Sudan.)
The pyramids of Meroë were built at the center of the Kingdom of Kush, an ancient empire in Nubia (c. 1070 BC – c. AD 550). The Archaeological Sites of the Island of Meroe is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
Image: Nina R

About Sudan

Sudan Flag
The map shows Sudan, formerly Africa's largest country by land area. The country split into two parts in 2011. Sudan, officially the Republic of the Sudan, with a predominantly Arab population and South Sudan, officially the Republic of South Sudan, with a population of about 8 million people of mainly African ethnic origin (Dinka, Nuer, Karo and other Nilotic tribes). Before the partition, South Sudan was an autonomous region in Sudan.

In January 2011, Southern Sudan held an independence referendum on whether the region should remain a part of Sudan or become independent. An overwhelming majority of almost 99% voted in favor of independence. The capital of South Sudan is Juba.

Sudan's highest point, the Deriba Caldera.
Sudan's highest point is the Deriba Caldera at (3042 meters/9,980 feet). The collapsed volcano is part of the Jebel Marra massif, a range of volcanic peaks in the southwest of the country.
Image: Hammy07

The Republic of the Sudan is located between Egypt and Eritrea in northeastern Africa, bordering the Red Sea in the northeast.

It borders Libya in the northwest, Chad in the west, the Central African Republic in the southwest, South Sudan in the south, and Ethiopia in the southeast.

With an area of 1,886,068 km², Sudan is the 16th largest country in the world; compared, it is more than five times the size of Germany or slightly less than three times the size of Texas.

Basically, the country consists of a vast plain bordered on three sides by mountains; to the northeast by the Red Sea Hills, the hills separate the narrow coastal plain from the Eastern Desert (aka the Nubian Desert). In the south are the Nuba Mountains and the Moro Hills, and in the southwest of the country are the Marrah Mountains, with Deriba Caldera (3,042 m/9,980 ft) as the highest peak. Deserts dominate the north.

See also:  Topographic Map of Sudan.

Sudan has a population of 46 million people (in 2022; the capital city is Khartoum, the largest city is Omdurman and Sudan's chief port is Port Sudan. The predominant language in the country is Sudanese Arabic; Beja (Bedawi), a Cushitic language, is spoken along the Red Sea.

The principal airports of Sudan are Khartoum International Airport (IATA code: KRT) and Port Sudan New International Airport (IATA code: PZU) in Port Sudan; regional airports are in Dongola, Al Junaynah (Geneina Airport, IATA code: EGN) and Nyala (IATA: UYL).

Map of Sudan

Political Map of Sudan
Political Map of Sudan

The map shows Sudan and surrounding countries with international borders, the national capital Khartoum, state capitals, major cities, main roads, railroads, and major airports.

You are free to use the above map for educational and similar purposes; if you publish it online or in print, you need to credit the Nations Online Project as the source.

More about Sudan

Boats in the Red Sea, the Red Sea Hills in the background, Sudan
Fishing boats in the Red Sea, the Red Sea Hills in the background.
Photo: Mohammed

Sudan gained independence from British and Egyptian colonial rule in 1956.

In July 2011, Sudan was divided into two countries after the people of the south voted for independence. South Sudan became an independent state on 9th July 2011.

The division was a result of a long-standing conflict between the north and south of Sudan.

The conflict was mainly due to differences in religion, ethnicity, and political power. In the north, the population is predominantly Muslim and Arab, while in the south, people are predominantly of African descent and Christian. The division led to the displacement of millions of people and caused a humanitarian crisis.

Geography of Sudan
Sudan is one of the most geographically diverse countries in Africa. Its landscape includes the Sahara Desert in the north, the coast of the Red Sea in the northwest, the plains and plateaus of the semi-arid Sahel zone in the center, mountains in the northeast and southwest, and the East Sudanian savanna and rainforests in the south. The central and southern parts of Sudan have different rainy seasons depending on latitude.

Sudan's lifeline is the Nile River. The Nile is formed north of Khartoum by the confluence of its two main tributaries, the White Nile and the Blue Nile.

The largest part of the country has a warm desert climate (BWh). The southern part is in a semi-arid climate zone (BSh), except for two small regions, one in southern Darfur and one in Blue Nile State, with a tropical savanna climate (Aw). Rainfall in Sudan is unreliable and erratic, with large differences between northern and southern regions. The average annual temperatures range from 26°C to 32°C, with summer temperatures often exceeding 40°C in the north.

Sudan Administrative Divisions

Khartoum, the capital city of Sudan in the backlight
Silouette of Khartoum in the backlight. The capital of Sudan is located at the confluence of the White Nile and the Blue Nile, which together form the Nile River.
Photo: Juri Knauth
The Republic of Sudan is divided into 18 states (wilayat) and one administrative area (mintaqah). Each state is further divided into districts (mudiriyah) and counties (wilayah). The administrative area known as Abyei Area, a piece of land on the border between Sudan and South Sudan, is administered by the Abyei Executive Council. Each state is headed by a governor, who is appointed by the president of Sudan.

Each state in Sudan has its own unique characteristics and features. Here are some notable features of a few states:

The map shows the location of the following cities and towns:

Abri, Abu Hamad, Abu Zabad, Abyei, Ad-Damar, Ad-Damazin, Afflanda, Al Fashir, Al Fula, Al Goled, Al Junaynah (El Geneina), Al-Qadarif, Al'Atrun, Atbara, Babanusa, Berber, Buram, Dongola, El Daein, El Obeid, En Nahud, Famaka, Gadamai, Haiya, Kaduqli, Karima, Kassala, Kerma, Khartoum, Kosti, Kutum, Laqiya Arba'in, Merowe, Muglad, New Halfa, North Khartoum, Nukhayla, Nyala, Omdurman, Port Sudan, Rabak, Salala, Sawdiri, Selima Oasis, Sennar, Shendi, Sinjah, Sinkat, Suakin, Talodi, Tokar, Tullus, Um Dukhun, Umm Badr, Wad Madani, and Wadi Halfa.



Weather Conditions Khartoum:





Maps of Countries in North Africa
Algeria Map | Egypt Map | Libya Map | Morocco Map | Sudan Map | Tunisia Map

Political Maps of Countries in Central Africa
Angola Map | Cameroon Map | Central African Republic Map | Chad Map | Republic of the Congo Map | Democratic Republic of the Congo Map | Equatorial Guinea Map | Gabon Map

Political Maps of Countries in West Africa
Benin Map | Burkina Faso Map | Cape Verde Map | Côte d'Ivoire Map | Ghana Map | Guinea Map | Guinea-Bissau Map | Liberia Map | Mali Map | Mauritania Map | Niger Map | Nigeria Map | Senegal Map | Sierra Leone Map | Togo Map

Political Maps of Countries in East Africa
Burundi Map | Comoros Map | Djibouti Map | Eritrea Map | Ethiopia Map | Kenya Map | Madagascar Map | Malawi Map | Mozambique Map | Réunion Map | Rwanda Map | Somalia Map | Tanzania Map | Uganda Map | Zambia Map | Zimbabwe Map

Maps of Countries in Southern Africa:
Botswana Map | Namibia Map | South Africa Map | Swaziland Map