Home Earth Continents Africa South Africa Country Profile Provinces of the Republic of South Africa South Africa Map

Index of Countries
Index of Maps

___ Political Map of South Africa

About South Africa

South Africa is the African country that occupies the most southern part of Africa. It is bordered by Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, Swaziland, and Zimbabwe and it surrounds the small Kingdom of Lesotho. South Africa has a coastline on both the South Atlantic Ocean in west and the Indian Ocean in east.

The country occupies an area of 1,221,000 km², compared it is larger than four times the size of Italy, or slightly less than twice the size of the U.S. state of Texas. Highest mountain in South Africa is Mafadi 3,450 metres (11,320 ft), a peak on the border of South Africa and Lesotho and part of the Drakensberg ("Dragon Mountains"), the highest mountain range in Southern Africa.

South Africa has a population of 50.5 million people (Official estimate 2011), the country's administrative capital is Pretoria; legislative capital is Cape Town and the judicial capital is Bloemfontein (Mangaung), largest city is Johannesburg.

Spoken languages are English, Afrikaans, Zulu, Xhosa, and others.

The detailed map below is showing South Africa and surrounding countries with international borders, the national capitals, province capitals, major cities, main roads, railroads and airports.

You are free to use this map for educational purposes, please refer to the Nations Online Project.
South Africa Flag

Bookmark/share this page

Nations Online Logo
One World - Nations Online
All Countries of the World

Political Map of South Africa
Political Map of South Africa

Map based on a UN map. Source: UN Cartographic Section

South African cities and towns

Map shows the location of following cities and towns in South Africa:

Alesander Bay, Aliwal North, Amanzimtoti, Barberton, Beaufort West, Bethlehem, Bhisho, Bitterfontein, Bloemfontein (judicial capital of South Africa, Sesotho name is Mangaung), Bohlokong, Calvinia, Cape Town (third most populous city and the legislative capital), Carnarvon, De Aar, Durban (major seaport and the third largest city), East London, George, Germiston, Graaff-Uitenhage, Grahamstown, Heidelberg, Hotazel, Johannesburg (largest city and industrial and mining capital), Kenhardt, Kimberley, Klawer, Klerksdorp, Knysna, Kroonstad, Krugersdorp, Ladysmith, Madadeni, Mafikeng, Middelburg, Mkuze, Mosselbay, Musina (Messina), Nababeep, Nelspruit (Mbombela), Newcastle, Orkney, Oudtshoorn, Paarl, Piet Retief, Pietermaritzburg, Polokwane (formerly Pietersburg; capital of Limpopo province), Port Alfred, Port Elizabeth (major seaport), Port Nolloth, Port Shepstone, Port St Johns, Pretoria (administrative and de facto capital of South Africa, official name since 2005 is Tshwane), Queenstown, Reinet, Richards Bay, River View, Rustenburg (a major city in North West Province), Saldanha, Sishen, Springbok, Stanger, Stellenbosch, Strand, Ulundi, Umtata, Upington, Vereeniging, Victoria West, Volksrust, Vredenburg, Vryheid, Welkom, Williston, Witbank, and Worcester.
More about South Africa:

Map of South Africa Provinces
Map shows South Africa's Provinces.

Satellite View and map of South Africa
Searchable map and satellite view of South Africa.

Searchable maps of major cities in South Africa:
Bloemfontein Cape Town Durban
Johannesburg Nelspruit
Polokwane Port Elizabeth
Pretoria Rustenburg

South Africa Country Profile
History of South Africa
South African Provinces
South Africa in numbers
South Africa key statistical data.

Map of Africa
Google Earth Map of Africa 
Current Weather Conditions Bloemfontein

Current Weather Conditions Johannesburg

Explore More:

Related Consumer Information:

Other Countries of Southern Africa:
Botswana | Lesotho | Namibia | Swaziland

Maps of other Countries of Southern Africa:
Botswana Map | Namibia Map | Swaziland Map

Searchable Maps of other Countries of Southern Africa:
Botswana Interactive Map | Namibia Interactive Map | Lesotho Interactive Map | Swaziland Interactive Map

Other Major Cities in Southern Africa:
Gaborone | Lobamba | Maseru | Mbabane | Windhoek

One World - Nations Online .:. let's care for this planet
Every nation is responsible for the current state of our world.
Site Map | Information Sources | Disclaimer: Privacy Policy, etc.
Contact: [email protected] | Copyright © 1998-2021 :: nationsonline.org
Namibia Lesotho Swaziland Mozambique Zimbabwe Maputo Mbabane Gaborone Botswana Port Elizabeth Cape Town Bloemfontein Maseru Durban Nelspruit Pretoria Johannesburg Polokwane