Home Earth Continents Africa Libya Country Profile Administrative Map of Libya Political Map of Libya

Maps Index

___ Political Map of Libya

About Libya

Map is showing Libya, a country in North Africa, with a coastline on the Mediterranean Sea. Much of the country is covered by the Libyan Desert, the northern and eastern part of the Sahara. Libya is bordered by Algeria, Chad, Egypt, Niger, Sudan, and Tunisia and it shares mb with Greece, Italy, and Malta.

Largest city and constitutional capital of Libya is Tripoli (Tarabulus), due to ongoing unrests in the country, the elected parliament acts from its virtual exile in the city of Tobruk (Tubruq) near the Egyptian border.
Spoken language is Arabic (official) and Berber languages (Kabyle).

The country was ruled by the 'Leader and Guide of the Revolution'-- 6.4 million inhabitants danced to the tune of Muammar al-Gaddafi. Since the National Transitional Council of Libya , a provisional government, took power (with some help of European forces) everything has changed. Libya's National Transitional Council handed over power in 2012 to the General National Congress, the national assembly formed by elections, which then was replaced by a new House of Representatives (Council of Deputies) in August 2014. The Council was dissolved by the Libyan Supreme Court in November 2014.

Depicted on the map below is Libya and surrounding countries with international borders, the national capital Tripoli, province capitals, major cities, main roads, and major airports.

You are free to use this map for educational purposes, please refer to the Nations Online Project.
Libya Flag

Bookmark/share this page

Nations Online Logo
One World - Nations Online
all countries of the world

Political Map of Libya
Political Map of Libya

Cities and towns in Libya:

The map shows the location of following Libyan cities and towns (largest cities in bold):

Adīrī, Ajdabiya (Ajdābiyā), Al 'Adam, Al Awaynat, Al 'Aziziyah, Al Bayḑā, Al Fuqahā, Al Jaghbūb, Al Jawf, Al Khums, Al Kufrah, Al Marj (Barce), Al Qaryah ash Sharqīyah, Al Qatrūn, Al 'Uwaynāt, Al Wīgh, Awbārī, Awjilah, Zawiya (Az Zāwiyah), Banghāzī (Benghazi, second largest city in Libya), Banī Walīd, Birāk, Darnah (Derna), Dirj, Ghadāmis, Gharyān, Ghāt, Hūn (Houn), Jālū, Madrūsah, Marādah , Ma'tan as Sarra, Mişrātah (Misurata, third largest city in Libya), Murzūq, Nalut, Rabyānah, Ra's Lanuf, Sabhā, Sīnāwīn, Surt (Sidra), Sūsah (Apollonia), Taḥramī, Ţarābulus (Tripoli), Tarhūnah, Tāzirbu, Tmassah (Wadi Tmassah), Toummo, Tubruq (Tobruk), Umm al Arānib, Waddān, Wāw al Kabīr, Yafran, Zighan, Zillah, Zlīţan, and Zuwārah.
More about Libya:

Searchable Map and Satellite View of the City of Tripoli
Searchable Map and Satellite View of the City of Benghazi

Searchable Map and Satellite View of Libya
Administrative Map of Libya

Libya Country Profile
Libya in Figures
Libya key statistical data.

Map of Northern Africa and the Middle East
Political Map of Africa
Relief Map of Africa
Google Earth Map of Africa

Current Weather Conditions Tripoli:

Related Consumer Information:

Other Countries in the Mediterranean:
Albania | Algeria | Bosnia and Herzegovina | Croatia | Cyprus | Egypt | France | Gaza Strip | Greece | Israel | Italy | Lebanon
Libya | Malta | Monaco | Montenegro | Morocco | Portugal | Slovenia | Spain | Syria | Tunisia | Turkey

Maps of other Countries in North Africa:
Algeria Map | Egypt Map | Morocco Map | Sudan Map | Tunisia Map

One World - Nations Online .:. let's care for this planet
Every nation is responsible for the current state of our world.
Site Map | Information Sources | Disclaimer: Privacy Policy, etc.
Contact: [email protected] | Copyright © 1998-2019 :: nationsonline.org
Niger Chad Algeria Tunisia Greece Malta Egypt Valletta Tripoli