Nations Online Logo

US-flag detail
Home Earth Continents The Americas US Country Profile Map of the US States

Maps Index
Map of the United States Blank Map of the United States

Map of the US States

Sunrise over Monument Valley
Sunrise in Monument Valley. The world famous valley is located on the Arizona–Utah border.
Image: Lucag


US Flag
The map shows the contiguous United States. The United States of America is a federal republic. It consists of 50 states, one federal district (the capital Washington D.C.), five larger territories, and several island territories. The 48 contiguous Continental United States (sometimes called the Lower 48) and Alaska are located in North America, while Hawaii and smaller outlying areas are located in the Pacific and Caribbean.

The United States of America is the third-largest country in the world by area.

The US has a population of 330.2 million people (in 2020). The capital is Washington D.C.; the largest city is New York. Spoken languages are English and Spanish.

Map of the States of the USA

Political Map of the US States with capitals and major cities
Political Map of the US States

The map shows the USA and bordering countries with international boundaries, the national capital Washington D.C., state capitals, and major cities.

You are free to use above map for educational purposes (fair use), please refer to the Nations Online Project.


Bookmark/share this page
  Instagram button

Weather Conditions Washington D.C.





Maps of other Countries in North America:
Canada Map | Mexico Map

Maps of Countries in Central America:
Costa Rica Map | El Salvador Map | Guatemala Map | Honduras Map | Nicaragua Map | Panama Map

Maps of Caribbean Islands
Cuba Map | Dominican Republic Map | Haiti Map | Jamaica Map | Puerto Rico Map

Maps of other Countries in South America:
Brazil Map | Chile Map | Colombia Map | Ecuador Map | French Guiana Map | Guyana Map | Paraguay Map | Peru Map