Home Continents The Americas El Salvador Country Profile El Salvador Map

Index of Countries
Index of Maps

___ Political and Administrative Map of El Salvador

About El Salvador

El Salvador is a mountainous country in western Central America bordered by the Pacific ocean in south, Guatemala in west and Honduras in north and it shares maritime borders with Nicaragua.

With an area of 21,000 km², it is the smallest Central American country about the size of Slovenia or slightly smaller than the U.S. state of Massachusetts. The county's highest elevation is Cerro El Pital with 2,730 m.

El Salvador has a population of 6,426,000 people (in 2015), Capital is San Salvador; official language is Spanish.

The map is showing El Salvador and the neighboring countries with international borders, department boundaries, the national capital San Salvador, department capitals, major cities, main roads, railroads and major airports.

You are free to use this map for educational purposes, please refer to the Nations Online Project.
El Salvador Flag

Bookmark/share this page

Nations Online Logo
One World - Nations Online
All Countries of the World

Map of El Salvador
Political and Administrative Map of El Salvador

Map based on a UN map. Source: UN Cartographic Section
Departments (departamentos) of El Salvador

The map shows the country's first level administrative divisions, the 14 departments of El Salvador

The departments (abbreviation in parentheses) and their capitals are:
Ahuachapán (AH) - Capital: Ahuachapán; Cabañas (CA) - Capital: Sensuntepeque; Chalatenango (CH) - Capital: Chalatenango; Cuscatlán (CU) - Capital: Cojutepeque; La Libertad (LI) - Capital: Santa Tecla; La Paz (PA) - Capital: Zacatecoluca; La Unión (UN) - Capital: La Unión; Morazán (MO) - Capital: San Francisco Gotera; San Miguel (SM) - Capital: San Miguel; San Salvador (SS) - Capital: San Salvador; San Vicente (SV) - Capital: San Vicente; Santa Ana (SA) - Capital: Santa Ana; Sonsonate (SO) - Capital: Sonsonate; Usulután (US) - Capital: Usulután

Cities in El Salvador

The map shows the location of Salvadoran cities and towns by departments:

Ahuachapán (capital), Atiquizaya

Sensuntepeque (capital), Ilobasco, Victoria Chalatenango Chalatenango (capital), Dulce Nombre de María, La Palma, La Reina, Nueva Concepción

Cojutepeque (capital), Suchitoto

La Libertad
Nueva San Salvador also Santa Tecla (capital), La Libertad, San Juan Opico, San Pablo Tacachico

La Paz
Zacatecoluca (capital), La Herradura, San Luis

La Unión
La Unión (capital), Pasaquina, Polorós, San Alejo

San Francisco (Gotera) (capital), Cacaopera, Perquín

San Miguel
San Miguel (capital), Carolina, Chirilagua, El Tránsito, San Jorge, Sesori

San Salvador
San Salvador (capital)

San Vicente
San Vicente (capital), Santa Clara, Tecoluca

Santa Ana
Santa Ana (capital), Candelaria de la Frontera, Metapán Sonsonate Sonsonate (capital), Acajutla, Armenia, Izalco

Usulután (capital), Jucuapa, Nueva Granada, San Agustín
More about El Salvador:

Searchable Map and Satellite View of San Salvador

Searchable Map and Satellite View of El Salvador

El Salvador Country Profile

Central America Map

Flags of the Americas
Languages of the Americas
Current Weather Conditions San Salvador:

Explore More:

Related Consumer Information:

Maps of other Countries in Central America:
Belize Map, Costa Rica Map, Guatemala Map, Honduras, Mexico Map, Nicaragua Map, Panama Map

Maps of Caribbean Islands
Cuba Map, Dominican Republic, Haiti Map, Jamaica Map, Puerto Rico Map

One World - Nations Online .:. let's care for this planet
Every nation is responsible for the current state of our world.
Site Map | Information Sources | Disclaimer: Privacy Policy, etc.
Contact: [email protected] | Copyright © 1998-2021 :: nationsonline.org