Cyprus Flag detail
Home Earth Continents Asia/Europe Cyprus Country Profile Cyprus Map

Satellite View and Map of Cyprus

Rock of the Greek, also known as Aphrodite's Rock in Cyprus
Rock of the Greek (Petra tou Romiou), also known as Aphrodite's Rock. According to legend, the foaming waters near this rock is the site of the birth of Aphrodite, the Greek goddess of love, beauty, pleasure, and procreation.
Image: Anton Zelenov

About Cyprus

Cyprus Coat of Arms

The satellite view and the map show the island of Cyprus, the third largest island in the Mediterranean Sea. The island is geographically already part of Asia (Middle East), located about 80 km (50 mi) south of the Turkish coast and about 120 km (75 mi) west of the coast of Syria. Cyprus shares maritime borders with EgyptGreeceIsraelLebanonSyria, and Turkey.

The island's area is divided into three political entities, the Republic of Cyprus, the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus and the United Kingdom with their Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia.

The Republic of Cyprus became an independent state on 16 August 1960, and a member of the United Nations one month later, it is a member state of the European Union since 2004.

Ancient town of Kourion in Cyprus
Ancient town of Kourion near Limassol. Kourion was an important city-state on the southwestern coast of Cyprus.
Image: Alexander Savin

Cyprus covers an area of 9,251 km² in the Mediterranean Sea. About two-thirds of the area belongs to the Republic of Cyprus, and one-third is de facto under the control of the self-declared Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus. The British Base Areas occupy 254 km².

The Troodos mountain range dominates the center of Cyprus' landscape. Along the northern shore of the island are the Kyrenia Mountains. To the south of the Kyrenia range lies the Mesaoria, a broad plain that extends from the Morphou Bay in the northwest to the Bay of Famagusta in the east. There are some smaller plains on the coast in the south, where the Paphos International Airport and the cities of Larnaca and Limassol are located.
The highest peak is Mount Olympus with 1,952 m (6,404 ft), the mountain is part of the Troodos range.

But the island is divided since 1974 into the Greek-speaking Republic of Cyprus in the southern part and the self-proclaimed Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus. UN peacekeeping forces (UNFICYP) maintain a buffer zone between the south and the north, but the division remains unresolved until today, despite pressure from the European Union and the United Nations.

The national capital of the Republic of Cyprus is Nicosia (Lefkosia), capital of Northern Cyprus is North Nicosia. Spoken languages are Greek and Turkish.

Related countries are Greece and Turkey.

The map shows Cyprus with cities, and towns, expressways, main roads, and streets, and the location of Larnaca International Airport (IATA code: LCA), the main international airport in Cyprus, Paphos International Airport (IATA code: PFO), and Lefkoşa (Nicosia) Airport (IATA code: ECN), the main public airport of Northern Cyprus, 34 km (21 mi) by road east of North Nicosia. The island's principal harbors are in Limassol and Larnaca.

To view the street map, click on the "Map" button.
To find a location use the form below.

Sorry! Google's pricing policy has made it impossible for us to continue showing Google Maps. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Google Map: Searchable map and satellite view of Cyprus.

Coordinates: 35°N 33°E

φ Latitude, λ Longitude (of Map center; move the map to see coordinates):


Bookmark/share this page
  Instagram button

More about Cyprus

Searchable map/satellite view of Nicosia (Lefkosia)

Political Map of Cyprus

Cyprus Profile

Cyprus in Figures
Cyprus key statistical data.

Map of the Mediterranean
Political Map of the Mediterranean Region.
Map of the Balkan Peninsula
Political Map of the Balkans.
Map of Central and Eastern Europe

Map of Western Asia and the Middle East
Political Map of Europe

Weather Conditions Cyprus:





Searchable Maps of other Countries in the Mediterranean:
Albania | Algeria | Bosnia and Herzegovina | Croatia | Egypt | France | Gaza Strip | Greece | Israel | Italy | Lebanon | Libya | Malta | Monaco | Montenegro | Morocco | Portugal | Slovenia | Spain | Syria | Tunisia | Turkey

Searchable Maps of other Countries in Western Asia and Middle East:
Armenia | Azerbaijan | Bahrain | Cyprus | Georgia | Iraq | Israel | Jordan | Kuwait | Lebanon | Oman | Palestinian territories | Qatar | Saudi Arabia | Syria | Turkey | United Arab Emirates | Yemen

Political Maps of Countries in the Middle East:
Bahrain Map, Cyprus Map, Egypt Map, Iran Map, Iraq Map, Israel Map, Jordan Map, Kuwait Map, Lebanon Map, Oman Map, Qatar Map, Saudi Arabia Map, Syria Map, Turkey Map, United Arab Emirates Map, Yemen Map 
Searchable Maps of Cities in the Middle East Region:
Abu Dhabi | Aden | Alexandria | Amman | Ankara | Baghdad | Baku | Beirut | Damascus | Doha | Dubai | Jerusalem | Luxor | Manama | MeccaMuscat | Nazareth | Nicosia | Port Said | Riyadh | Sana'a | Sharm el-Sheikh | Suez | Tehran | Tel Aviv

Map Help [ show ]