Nations Online Logo

Home Earth Continents Asia Cyprus Country Profile Map of Cyprus

Maps Index

Map of Cyprus, Mediterranean Sea

View of Paphos harbor in Cyprus
View of Paphos harbor in Cyprus.
Image: Anna Anichkova

About Cyprus

Republic of Cyprus Flag
The map shows the island of Cyprus in the Eastern Mediterranean Sea. Cyprus is located about 80 km (50 mi) south of the coast of Turkey, west of Syria and Lebanon, northwest of Israel, north of the Sinai Peninsula (Egypt) and east of the island of Crete (Greece.)

The third largest island in the Mediterranean has a land area of 9,251 km². 5,896 km² (2,276 sq mi) are under the control of the Republic of Cyprus; 3,355 km² (1,295 sq mi) are de facto under the administration of the self-declared Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus.

Cyprus has a population of almost 1.2 million people live on the island. 875,900 people live in the Republic of Cyprus (in 2018), 326,000 in Northern Cyprus (in 2017) Spoken languages are Greek and Turkish.

Since 1974, Cyprus has been divided de facto into the Cyprus government-controlled area in the southern part of the island, officially named the Republic of Cyprus, and the Turkish Cypriot area in the north. A United Nations peacekeeping force (UNFICYP) maintaines a buffer zone between them. UNFICYP was established in 1964 to prevent a recurrence of fighting between Greek Cypriots and the Turkish Cypriots. The mandate for UNFICYP was last renewed on 31 January 2019 and extends until 31 July 2019. [1] [2]

Furthermore, there are two small British Overseas Territories on the island, Akrotiri and Dhekelia; they are administered as Sovereign Base Areas (S.B.A.) of the United Kingdom. They are small remnants of British occupation of the island from 1878 to 1960.

Map of Cyprus

Map of Cyprus
Political Map of Cyprus

Map shows the island of Cyprus with district borders, district capitals, major cities, towns, and villages, main roads, and major airports.

Map based on a UN map. Source: UN Cartographic Section 

You are free to use above map for educational purposes, please refer to the Nations Online Project.

More about Cyprus

Cyprus is divided into six districts: Nicosia, Larnaca, Limassol and Paphos in the Republic of Cyprus, and Famagusta and Kyrenia in the Northern Cyprus-controlled areas.

Cities and Towns in Cyprus

The location of following cities, towns, and villages are depicted on the map.

Republic of Cyprus
Agios Nikolaos, Agios Theodoros, Akaki, Alaminos, Alona, Astromeritis , Episkopi, Evrychou, Gialia, Kakopetria, Kalavasos, Kato Lefkara, Kato Polemidia, Kato Pyrgos, Kiti, Klirou, Kofinou, Kokkinotrimithia, Koloni, Kotsiatis, Kouklia, Larnaca, Limassol, Lymbia, Mallia, Mandria, Margi, Mari, Moni, Nicosia, Palaichori, Paphos, Pedoulas, Pegeia, Polis, Peristerona, Platres, Pomos, Stavrokonnou, Troodos, and Zygi.

Turkish Northern Cyprus
Agios Amvrosios, Akanthou, Angastina, Ardana, Arsos, Avlona, Bellapais, Beykeuy, Bogazi, Dhiorios, Dikomo, Eptakomi, Famagusta, Galateia, Gialousa, Gšnyeli, Kalopsida, Karavas, Karavostasi, Komi Kebir, Kontea, Kormakitis, Kourou Monastiri, Kyrenia, Kythrea, Lapithos, Lefka, Lefkoniko, Leonarisso, Limnitis, Louroujina, Morphou, Myrtou, Pergamos, Prastio, Rizokarpaso, Skylloura, Templos, Trikomo, Trypimeni, Tymbou, Tziaos (Chatos), and Vothylakas.

Within the UN Buffer Zone
Athienou, Deneia, Pyla, and Troulloi.

Within the Akrotiri Sovereign Base Area

There are three international airports in Cyprus.
Larnaca International Airport - Glafcos Clerides (IATA code: LCA), southwest of Larnaca;
Paphos International Airport (IATA code: PFO), southeast of the city of Paphos in Western Cyprus;
and Ercan International Airport (IATA code: ECN) in north of Tymbou (Tymvou) in Northern Cyprus.


Bookmark/share this page
  Instagram button

Weather Conditions Cyprus:





Maps of other Countries in Southern Europe
Albania Map, Cyprus Map, Greece Map, Italy Map, Macedonia Map, Vatican City State Map
Montenegro Map, Portugal Map, Serbia Map, Slovenia Map, Spain Map, Turkey Map

Political Maps of other Countries in the Middle East:
Bahrain Map, Egypt Map, Iran Map, Iraq Map, Israel Map, Jordan Map, Kuwait Map, Lebanon Map, Oman Map, Qatar Map, Saudi Arabia Map, Syria Map, Turkey Map, United Arab Emirates Map, Yemen Map 

Searchable Maps of other Countries in Western Asia and Middle East:
Armenia | Azerbaijan | Bahrain | Georgia | Iraq | Israel | Jordan | Kuwait | Lebanon | Oman | Palestinian territories | Qatar | Saudi Arabia | Syria | Turkey | United Arab Emirates | Yemen