Home Earth Continents Asia Iran Country Profile Map of Iran

Maps Index

Map of Iran, Middle East

Seyyed mosque in Isfahan, Iran
Seyyed mosque in Isfahan, Iran. The city's largest mosque was built in the 19th century during the time of the Qajar dynasty.
Image: Diego Delso

About Iran

Iran Flag
The map shows Iran, an Islamic state between the Caspian Sea in the north and the Persian Gulf in the south. The country is officially named the Islamic Republic of Iran. Until the 1980s in the Western world, Persia was historically the common name for Iran.
Persia was a monarchy until 1979 when the last Persian Shah Reza Pahlavi was overthrown in a popular uprising, headed by Ayatollah Khomeini.

Iran borders Afghanistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Iraq, Pakistan, Turkey, and Turkmenistan. It shares maritime borders with Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates.

With an area of 1,648,195 kmĀ², Iran is almost three times the size of France or somewhat smaller than the US state of Alaska.

Large parts of the country occupy the Iranian Plateau (or Persian Plateau, a geological formation in Western and Central Asia). A broad portion of Iran's coastal regions at the Persian Gulf is part of the Arabian plate.

The highest mountain in Iran is Mount Damavand at 5,610 m (18,410 ft), a potentially active volcano in the Alborz mountain range south of the Caspian Sea, about 70 km northeast of Tehran.

Most rivers in Iran are relatively short, shallow streams, the only navigable river is the Karun (Karoun) with a length of 725 km.

The country has a population of 82 million people (est. 2019). The largest city and capital is Tehran. Other major cities are Mashhad, Isfahan, Karaj (a suburb of Tehran), Tabriz, Shiraz, Ahvaz, and Qom. Spoken language is Persian (Farsi, official). The official religion is Shia Islam.

Regions of Iran
Iran is divided into five regions with thirty-one provinces. The five administrative regions are Tehran, Isfahan, Tabriz, Kermanshah, and Mashhad.

Map of Iran

Political Map of Iran
Political Map of Iran

The map shows Iran and surrounding countries with international borders, the national capital Tehran, province capitals, major cities, main roads, railroads, and major airports.

You are free to use above map for educational purposes, please refer to the Nations Online Project.

More about Iran

Aerial view of Tehran, with the Alborz mountain range, Iran
Aerial view of Tehran, with the Alborz mountain range in the background.
Photo: Ninara

Iran's largest cities are

Tehran, the capital of Iran, is located in the foothills of the Alborz Mountains. It replaced Isfahan as the capital of Persia in 1788.

Mashhad, the nation's second most populous city and the capital of Razavi Khorasan Province is located in the northeast of the country, near the borders with Turkmenistan and Afghanistan. Mashhad was an important oasis along the ancient Silk Road.

Isfahan is an industrial city in central Iran. It was the capital of Persia from 1598 until 1722.

Tabriz, the capital city of East Azerbaijan Province in northwestern Iran lies at the center of an active volcanic region. It is one of the historical capitals of Persia.

Shiraz, the capital of the Fars province, is a gateway to Persepolis, the ruined 6th-century-BC ceremonial capital of Persia under the Achaemenid dynasty.

Ahvaz, the capital city of Khuzestan province, is an industrial city at the Karun river with a population of about 1.2 million people.

Qom, the capital of Qom province, is considered holy by Shia Islam, the city is home to the shrine of Fatimah bint Musa, the sister of Ali al-Ridha (Imam Reza), a descendant of the Islamic prophet, Muhammad, the founder of Islam.

Province capitals

Iran is subdivided into thirty-one provinces, below are the names of their capital cities:

Ahvaz, Arak, Ardabil, Bandar Abbas, Birjand, Bojnord, Bushehr, Gorgan, Hamadan, Ilam, Isfahan, Karaj, Kerman, Kermanshah, Khorramabad, Mashhad, Qazvin, Qom, Rasht, Sanandaj, Sari, Semnan, Shahr-e Kord, Shiraz, Tabriz, Tehran, Urmia, Yasuj, Yazd, Zahedan, and Zanjan.


Bookmark/share this page
  Instagram button

Weather Conditions Tehran:





Political Maps of other Countries in the Middle East:
Bahrain Map, Cyprus Map, Egypt Map, Iran Map, Iraq Map, Israel Map, Jordan Map, Kuwait Map, Lebanon Map, Oman Map, Qatar Map, Saudi Arabia Map, Syria Map, Turkey Map, United Arab Emirates Map, Yemen Map