Home Continents Asia India Profile Pakistan Profile Political Map of Kashmir Region

Map Index

___ Political Map of the Kashmir Region

About Kashmir

Map is showing the northern portion of Pakistan and the the northern part of India, the north western part of China and the mountainous Kashmir region, which is the northernmost geographical area of South Asia.

Vale of Kashmir map
Vale of Kashmir
Image: Google Earth

Today the former princely state of Kashmir and Jammu is divided among three countries, administered by India, Pakistan, and China. The Kashmir region is bordered by Afghanistan in north west and north, the disputed border area Aksai Chin and the Chinese Autonomous regions of Xinjang and Tibet in east.

The Pakistani portion of Kashmir is divided in two provinces, Gilgit-Baltistan (or Northern Areas) and the self-governing administrative division of Azad Kashmir. The Indian portion is the northernmost Indian state of Jammu and Kashmir. Pakistan and India have overlapping territorial claims in Kashmir, the border between the two states is known as the 'Line of control' (LoC), it is an internationally not recognized boundary but the de facto border between the two countries, but the disputed Kashmir region is claimed by both India and Pakistan in its entirety.

India has control of 60% of the area of the former Princely State of Jammu and Kashmir (Jammu, Kashmir Valley, Ladakh and Siachen Glacier); Pakistan controls 30% of the region (Gilgit–Baltistan and Azad Kashmir). China administers 10% (Aksai Chin and Trans-Karakoram Tract) of the state since 1962.

You are free to use this map for educational purposes (fair use), please refer to the Nations Online Project.
Nations Online Logo
One World - Nations Online
all countries of the world    

Map of Northern India, Northern Pakistan and the Kashmir Region
Political Map of Kashmir Region
Map shows the location of following cities and towns in Northern India:

Amritsar, Baramulla, Dehradun, Jammu, Kargil, Leh, Ludhiana, Manali, New Delhi, Shimla, and Srinagar.

Map shows the location of following cities and towns in Northern Pakistan: 

Abbottabad, Dera Ismail Khan, Faisalabad, Gilgit, Gujranwala, Islamabad, Lahore, Muzaffarabad, Peshawar, Sahiwal, Skardu, and Wagah (border town between Pakistan and India on the Grand Trunk Road between Amritsar, Punjab, India, and Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan).

Bookmark/share this page

More about India:

Searchable map of the location of India's international and most important domestic airports.

Taj Mahal
Satellite view of the famous mausoleum.

Searchable map/satellite view of

Delhi, Chandigarh, Kolkata, Mumbai

Searchable map and satellite view of India
India Administrative Map
Map of India

More about Pakistan:

Searchable map/satellite view of


Searchable map/satellite view of Pakistan
Political Map of Pakistan
Administrative Map of Pakistan

Pakistan Country Profile

Map of South East Asia
Map of Asia
Weather Conditions Amritsar:


Explore more:

Related Consumer Information:

States and Union Territories of India

Searchable Maps of India's States:
Andhra Pradesh | Arunachal Pradesh | Assam | Bihar | Chhattisgarh | Goa | Gujarat | Haryana | Himachal Pradesh | Jammu & Kashmir
Jharkhand | Karnataka | Kerala | Madhya Pradesh | Maharashtra | Manipur | Meghalaya | Mizoram | Nagaland | Odisha | Punjab | Rajasthan
Sikkim | Tamil Nadu | Tripura | Uttarakhand | Uttar Pradesh | West Bengal

Searchable Maps of India's Territories:
Andaman and Nicobar Islands | Chandigarh | Dadra & Nagar Haveli | Daman & Diu | Lakshadweep | Puducherry

Maps of other countries in Southeast and Eastern Asia:
Bangladesh Map, Bhutan Map, Cambodia Map, China Map, India Map, Indonesia Map, Japan Map
Korea (North), Korea (South), Laos Map, Malaysia Map, Maldives Map, Mongolia Map, Myanmar Map
Nepal Map, Pakistan Map, Philippines Map, Singapore Map, Sri Lanka Map, Taiwan Map, Thailand Map
Afghanistan Country Profile Tajikistan Country Profile China Country Profile Nepal Country Profile India Country Profile Tibet About Punjab India, part of the larger Punjab region, with map About India's Uttarakhand state, with map About Himachal Pradesh, the Indian state in the Himalayas with map About New Delhi, capital city of India with map About Chandigarh, capital city of Haryana and Punjab, with map About Lahore, capital city of the Pakistani province of Punjab, with map About Kabul capital city of Afghanistan, with map About Jammu and Kashmir, province of India Abbottabad About Islamabad, capital city of Pakistan Pakistan Country Profile

One World - Nations Online .:. let's care for this planet
Every nation is responsible for the current state of our world.
Site Map | Information Sources | Disclaimer: Privacy Policy, etc.
Contact: [email protected] | Copyright © 1998-2019 :: nationsonline.org