Nations Online Logo

Home Earth Continents Asia Map of South-East Asia

Map of Southeast Asia

Landscape between Laos and Thailand with the Mekong River which defines the border between the two countries.
Palmtrees, rivers, and mountains, a typical landscape in Mainland Southeast Asia. The Mekong River, a major river in Asia forms several sections of the borders between the countries of Myanmar (Burma), Laos, and Thailand; the river empties into the South China Sea in Southern Vietnam.
Image: kk

About the Southeast Asia Region

Southeast Asia is a vast subregion of Asia, roughly described as geographically situated east of the Indian subcontinent, south of China, and northwest of Australia. The region is located between the Indian Ocean and the Bay of Bengal in the west, the Philippine Sea, the South China Sea, and the Pacific Ocean in the east.

Regions in Southeast Asia
The area consists of two distinctive geographic regions, the northern portion is known as Mainland Southeast Asia, or Indochina, situated mainly on the Indochinese peninsula; it comprises the countries of Myanmar (Burma), Thailand, West Malaysia (Peninsular Malaysia), Laos, Cambodia, and Vietnam.
The second region is known as the Malay Archipelago, or Maritime Southeast Asia, it comprises the archipelago of Indonesia in the south, Brunei and East Malaysia (Sabah) on the northern part of the island of Borneo, all the islands of the Philippines, plus Singapore and East Timor (Timor-Leste on the island of Timor).

Ten countries in Southeast Asia are member states of ASEAN, the Association of Southeast Asian Nations, an intergovernmental organization established for economic growth, political stability, active collaboration and mutual assistance, as well as educational and cultural integration amongst its members.
Southeast Asia, together with the Indian subcontinent and lowland southern China, forms the Indomalaya ecozone, one of the eight great ecozones (or biogeographic realms) that cover the Earth's surface.

Southeast Asia Map
Political Map of South-East Asia
The map shows the countries and regions of South Asia and Southeast Asia with major bodies of water, international borders, main cities, and capitals.

You are free to use above map for educational purposes, please refer to the Nations Online Project.

Maps of South East Asian and South Asian Countries:

Map of Bangladesh | Map of Bhutan | Map of Cambodia | Map of China | Map of India | Map of Indonesia | Map of Laos | Map of Malaysia | Map of the Maldives | Map of Myanmar | Map of Nepal | Map of Pakistan | Map of Philippines | Map of Thailand | Map of Singapore | Map of Sri Lanka | Map of Vietnam

Capital Cities in South East Asia
Searchable maps and information about the capitals cities:

The big capitals:
Bangkok, Colombo, Delhi, Jakarta, Kuala Lumpur, Manila, Singapore, Taipei

The small capitals:
Bandar Seri Begawan, Dili, Kathmandu, Naypyidaw, Phnom Penh, Thimphu, Vientiane

Other big cities in the region:
Bandung, Chennai (Madras), Ho Chi Minh (Saigon), Hong Kong, Kolkata, Mumbai, and Yangon.


Bookmark/share this page
  Instagram button

Countries and regions on the fringe of Southeast Asia
Bhutan, Hong Kong, Indian States and Union Territories, Macao, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Tibet