Nations Online Logo

Europe Flag detail
Home Earth Continents Europe Map of Europe

Maps Index

Political Map of Europe

Landscape of Florence, the capital city of the Tuscany region, Italy
Landscape of Florence, the capital city of the Tuscany region in central Italy.
Image: Fabio Ginestrini

Map of the European States

Europe Flag
The map shows the European continent with European Union member states, new member states of the European Union since 2004, 2007, and 2013, member states of European Free Trade Association (EFTA), and the location of country capitals and major European cities.

Member States of the European Union: more

keywords: online map of western europe, eastern europe, central europe, political map of europe

Map of Europe

Political Map of Europe
Political Map of Europe showing the European countries.

Color-coded map of Europe with European Union member countries, non-member countries, and EU candidates, with international borders, the national capitals, and major cities.

You are free to use above map for educational purposes (fair use), please refer to the Nations Online Project.

More about Europe

Portugal, Cabo da Roca - the westernmost point of continental Europe and the Eurasian mainland.
Portugal, Cabo da Roca - the westernmost point of continental Europe and the Eurasian mainland.
Photo: Mohammed Moussa

Geography of Europe

Europe is the world's second-smallest continent after Australia. Mainland Europe is geographically a great big peninsula, the western part of the Eurasian supercontinent.

The European continent, despite it has no clear geographical or geological boundary in east, is by convention 'separated' from Asia by the Ural Mountains, the Ural River, the Caucasus Mountains, in southeast by the Caspian Sea and the Black Sea (see Map of Asia, with the soft border between the continents).
In the south, the Mediterranean Sea separates Europe from the African continent. Europe's western borders are defined by the Atlantic Ocean and on the north by the Polar Sea.

Extreme points of Europe
The northernmost point of mainland Europe is on the northern tip of the Cape Nordkinn peninsula in Norway. The southernmost point is Punta de Tarifa on the Atlantic end of the Straits of Gibraltar in Spain, and its westernmost point is at cape Cabo da Roca in Portugal.

Europe is roughly divided into the geographic subregions of Central Europe, Eastern Europe, Northern Europe, Southern Europe, and Western Europe, as the United Nations region classification uses it. For a list of countries in these regions, see Countries of Europe.

People in the United Kingdom, use the term 'Europe' to refer to all of the continent except the British Isles.

Europe's largest cities by population in 2020

The ten largest cities are
Istanbul (pop. 15 million; Turkey), Moscow (pop. 12.6 million; Russia), London (pop. 9.1 million; United Kingdom), Saint Petersburg (pop. 5.4 million; Russia), Berlin (pop. 3.75 million; Germany), Madrid (pop. 3.2 million; Spain), Kiev (pop. 2.9 million; Ukraine), Rome (pop. 2.85 million; Italy), Paris (pop. 2.14 million; France), and Bucharest (pop. 2.1 million; Romania).


Bookmark/share this page
  Instagram button

More about Europe

Capital Cities of Europe
Maps and information for all European capitals.

Countries of Europe
Countries of Europe with population figures.

Flags of Europe -
Flags of the European States.

Languages of Europe
Which language is spoken in which European country?

Map of the Balkan Peninsula

Map of the Baltic States
Political Map of the Baltic Countries.

Map of the Baltic Sea
Map of the Baltic Sea and bordering countries.

Map of Central and Eastern Europe
Political map of Europe's far east.

Map of European Russia

Map of the Mediterranean Region
Political map of the Mediterranean.

Topographgic Map of the Iberian Peninsula
Shaded relief map of the Iberian Peninsula.

Map of Scandinavia
Political Map of Scandinavia.

Map of Major Airports in Europe



Political Maps of Countries in Europe
Albania | Austria | Belarus | Belgium | Bosnia and Herzegovina | Bulgaria | Croatia | Cyprus | Czech Republic | Denmark | Estonia | Faroe Islands | Finland | France Germany | Greece | Greenland | Hungary | Iceland | Ireland | Italy | Latvia | Lithuania | Luxembourg | Macedonia | Moldova | Montenegro | Netherlands | Norway | Poland | Portugal | Romania | Russia | Serbia | Slovakia | Slovenia | Spain | Sweden | Switzerland | Turkey | Ukraine | United Kingdom | Vatican City