One Planet
Nations Online

All Countries in the World

___ Map of Luxembourg

About Luxembourg

Luxembourg Coat of ArmsThe map is showing the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, a landlocked country in Western Europe.

Luxembourg shares international borders with Belgium to the west and north, Germany to the east, and France to the south. Luxembourg's geography offers two principal regions: the Oesling, part of the Ardennes massif, a hilly region with large deciduous forests in the north, and the Gutland ("good country"), the relatively urbanized region in the south.

With an area of 2586 km² (999 sqm), Luxembourg is more than 10 times smaller than neighboring Belgium, or slightly smaller than the U.S. state of Rhode Island.

The Grand Duchy has a population of 530.000 inhabitants (in 2015), capital and largest city is Luxembourg-City (Lëtzebuerg), with about 100.000 citizens. Spoken language is Luxembourgish, administrative languages are French, German, and Luxembourgish.

Major towns are Esch-sur-Alzette (pop.: 28,000), Differdange (19,000), Dudelange (17,600), Ettelbruck (7,400), Diekirch (6,200), Wiltz (4,600), Echternach (4,500), Rumelange (4,500), Grevenmacher (4,000), Remich (3,000), Vianden (1,600), in the south east corner of the country lies Schengen (4200), a small wine-making village near the tripoint where the borders of Germany, France, and Luxembourg meet. It is the town nearest to where the Schengen Agreement was signed on a river-boat in the Moselle River. The Schengen Agreement is the European treaty which provided for the abandoning of border controls between the participating countries, signed in 1985. The town is also name giver for the Schengen Area, which comprises the 26 European countries that have abolished passport and any other type of border control.

The map shows Luxembourg with cities, towns, expressways, main roads and streets.
Map of Luxembourg
Map of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.
Bookmark/share this page

More about Luxembourg:

profile Searchable map/satellite view of the city Luxembourg

profile Luxembourg Country Profile

Political Map of Europe
Weather Conditions Luxembourg

Related Consumer Information:

Major Cities in Western Europe
Amsterdam, Berlin, Bern, Cologne, Brussels, Frankfurt, Hamburg, Monaco, Munich (München), Nice, Paris, Rotterdam, The Hague, Vaduz, Vienna (Wien), Zurich

Searchable Maps of other Countries in Western Europe:
Austria | Belgium | France | Germany | Liechtenstein | Monaco | Netherlands | Switzerland

Political Maps of other Countries in Western Europe:

Austria Map | Belgium Map | France Map | Germany Map | Netherlands Map | Switzerland Map

Map Help [ show ]
Support UNICEF