Indonesia Flag detail
Home Earth Continents Asia Indonesia Country Profile Map of Indonesia

Maps Index

Political Map of Indonesia, Asia

Skyline of Indonesia's capital city Jakarta.
Skyline of Indonesia's capital city Jakarta during afternoon.
Image: Georgi Kovachev

About Indonesia

Indonesia Flag
The map shows Indonesia, an island nation in Maritime Southeast Asia, straddling the equator between the South China Sea and the Pacific Ocean in the north and the Indian Ocean in the south. The country consists of some 17,000 islands in the Malay Archipelago, the marine region is also known as Maritime Southeast Asia, East Indies, Indonesian Archipelago, and Spices Archipelago.

Indonesia has land borders with Malaysia (on the island of Borneo), Papua New Guinea (on the island of New Guinea), and Timor-Leste (on Timor island). The nation shares maritime borders with eight neighboring countries, Australia, India, Palau, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam, and China; due to Chinese territorial claims in the South China Sea, there are overlapping maritime boundaries between the two nations around the Riau Islands.

The whole island chain of Indonesia sits on the south-western section of the Pacific Ring of Fire, a subduction zone where the tectonic plate of Indo-Australia and the Pacific Plate are pushed under the Eurasian plate, causing volcanic eruptions and earthquakes which may generate Tsunamis (seismic sea waves).

Map of Indonesia

Political Map of Indonesia
Political Map of Indonesia

The map shows Indonesia and surrounding countries with international borders, the national capital Jakarta, province capitals, major cities, main roads, railroads, and major airports.

You are free to use the above map for educational and similar purposes; if you publish it online or in print, you need to credit Nations Online Project as the source.

More about Indonesia

Indonesian Naga, a magical serpent in Southeast Asia
An Indonesian Naga; in the Javanese and Balinese culture, a naga is depicted as a crowned, giant, magical serpent.
Photo: Arwen

Indonesia is made up of several island groups.

The Greater Sunda Islands include Indonesia's largest islands, Sumatra, Java, Borneo (shared with Malaysia and Brunei) and Sulawesi (formerly known as Celebes),

The chain of the Lesser Sunda Islands comprises six large and numerous small islands located east of Java, including Bali, Lombok, Flores, Alor, Weta, Sumbawa, Sumba, Savu, Roti, and Timor; they form a volcanic island arc.

The Maluku Islands, also known as the Moluccas, are an a between Sulawesi in the west and New Guinea island in the east. The Moluccas consist of over 1000 islands; the largest two are Halmahera and Seram.

New Guinea
is the world's second-largest island after Greenland. The independent nations of Papua New Guinea and Indonesia share the island. The western half of New Guinea island was formerly known as "Dutch New Guinea"; it is occupied by the Indonesian
provinces of Papua and West Papua.

Indonesia's Largest Cities

Indonesia's largest cities are
Jakarta is the capital and Indonesia's largest urban agglomeration, with more than 10 million inhabitants. The capital consists of five administrative cities (Kota), which form the Special Capital Region of Jakarta.

Surabaya, Medan, Bekasi, Bandung, Makassar, Depo and Semarang are other large cities in Indonesia.

Indonesian cities and towns

The map shows the location of the following Indonesian cities and towns:

On the island of Celebes:
Gorontalo, Kendari, Manado, Palu, Pare Pare, and Ujungpandang

On the island of Borneo (Kalimantan):
Balikpapan, Banjarmasin, Palangkaraya, Pontianak, Samarinda, Tanjungredep, Bangka, and Pangkal Pinang

On the island of Sumatra:
Banda Aceh, Bandar Lampung, Bengkulu, Jambi, Kotabumi, Lahat, Langsa, Medan, Padang, Padangsidempuan, Palembang, Payakumbuh, Pekanbaru, Sungaipenuh, Tebingtinggi,

On the island of Java: Bandung, Jakarta, Semarang, Serang, Surabaya, and Yogyakarta

On the island of Bali: Denpasar

On the island of Lombok: Mataram
On Timor island: Kupang and Dili (East Timor)

On Halmahera island: Ternate, and

On the island of New Guinea:
Jayapura, Manokwari, Merauke, Sorong, Timika, Wamena,
On Biak island: Biak and on Ceram island: Ambon


Weather Conditions Jakarta:





Maps of other countries in Southeast and Eastern Asia:
Bangladesh Map, Bhutan Map, Cambodia Map, China Map, India Map, Indonesia Map, Japan Map, Korea (North), Korea (South), Laos Map, Malaysia Map, Maldives Map, Mongolia Map, Myanmar Map, Nepal Map, Pakistan Map, Philippines Map, Singapore Map, Sri Lanka Map, Taiwan Map, Thailand Map, Vietnam Map