Home Earth Continents Asia Malaysia Country Profile Malaysia Map

Map Index

___ Political and Administrative Map of Malaysia

About Malaysia

Malaysia is a country in Southeast Asia consisting of two parts, Peninsular Malaysia (West Malaysia) on the Malay Peninsula and Malaysian Borneo (East Malaysia) on the northern third of the island of Borneo.

Peninsular Malaysia borders the South China Sea in east, Singapore at its tip in south, the Strait of Malacca in west and Thailand in north. East Malaysia borders the South China Sea in north west, and Indonesia in south, and it surrounds the small Nation of Brunei.

With a total area of 329,847 km², the country is slightly larger than Norway, or slightly larger than the U.S. state of New Mexico. Highest mountain is Mount Kinabalu with 4,095 m on the island of Borneo close to the northern tip of the island. The mountain and the surrounding Kinabalu Park are a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Malaysia has a population of 31.6 million people (2016). Spoken languages are Malaysian and some English.

Map is showing Malaysia and surrounding countries with international borders, state boundaries, the national capital Kuala Lumpur, state capitals, major cities, main roads, railroads and Malaysia's international airports.

For information about Flight MH 370 see our MH 370 Search - Map of Peninsular Malaysia and surrounding Countries

You are free to use this map for educational purposes, please refer to the Nations Online Project.
Malaysia Flag

Bookmark/share this page

Nations Online Logo
One World - Nations Online
all countries of the world    

Map of Malaysia
Political and Administrative Map of Malaysia

Administrative Regions, the States of Malaysia

Malaysia is a federation of 13 states (in Malay, Negeri).
Eleven states are situated on the Malay Peninsula (West Malaysia) as well as the two Federal Territories, two states are located on the island of Borneo (East Malaysia).

On the map you will find the state by the number.

  1. Kingdom of Perlis (Kangar)
  2. Sultanate of Kedah (Alor Star)
  3. Pulau Pinang (George Town)
  4. Sultanate of Perak (Ipoh)
  5. Sultanate of Kelantan (Kota Baharu)
  6. Sultanate of Terengganu (Kuala Terengganu)
  7. Sultanate of Pahang (Kuantan)
  8. Sultanate of Selangor (Shah Alam)
  9. Federal Territory of Putrajaya (federal administrative capital)
10. Elective Monarchy of Negeri Sembilan (Seremban)
11. Malacca (Bandar Melaka)
12. Sultanate of Johor (Johor Baharu)

Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur (legislative capital)

East Malaysia, on Borneo:
Sabah (Kota Kinabalu)
Sarawak (Kuching)
Malaysian Cities and Towns

The location of following Malaysian cities and towns are depicted on the map:

Alor Star, Bandar Melaka, Beaufort, Bentung, Betong, Bidor, Binatang, Bintulu, Butterworth, Chukai, Dungun, George Town, Ipoh, Johor Baharu, Kampung Sepetang, Kangar, Keluang, Kota Baharu, Kota Belud, Kota Kinabalu, Kuala Kerai, Kuala Kubu, Kuala Lipis, Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Terengganu, Kuantan, Kuching, Kudet, Lahad Datu, Melalap, Mersing, Muar, Mukah, Papar, Pasir Mas, Pasir Puteh, Pekan, Penang, Pontian Kechil, Port Dickson, Port Klang, Ranau, Sandakan, Sarikei, Sematan, Sempurna, Seremban, Serian, Shah Alam, Sibu, Simanggang, Teluk Intan, Temerluh, Tenom, and Terusan.

More about Malaysia:

Searchable Map and Satellite View of Kuala Lumpur (capital city)
Searchable map/satellite view of the city of Johor Bahru

Searchable Map and Satellite View of Malaysia
Malaysia Country Profile

Map of Southeast Asia
Map of Asia
Kuala Lumpur Weather Conditions:

Kuching Weather Conditions:
Related Consumer Information:

Maps of other countries in Southeast and Eastern Asia:
Bangladesh Map, Bhutan Map, Cambodia Map, China Map, India Map, Indonesia Map, Japan Map
Korea (North), Korea (South), Laos Map, Mongolia Map, Myanmar Map
Nepal Map, Pakistan Map, Philippines Map, Singapore Map, Sri Lanka Map, Taiwan Map, Thailand Map, Vietnam Map

One World - Nations Online .:. let's care for this planet
Every nation is responsible for the current state of our world.
Site Map | Information Sources | Disclaimer: Privacy Policy, etc.
Contact: [email protected] | Copyright © 1998-2021 :: nationsonline.org
Cambodia Vietnam Myanmar Thailand Indonesia Singapore Singapore Bandar Seri Begawan Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon) Phnom Penh Johor Bahru Brunei Darussalam Kuala Lumpur