Home Continents Asia South Korea Country Profile Political Map of South Korea Administrative Map of South Korea

Map Index

___ Administrative Map of South Korea (Republic of Korea)

About South Korea

Map is showing South Korea, an East Asian nation on the southern half of the Korean Peninsula. The country is bordered by the the Sea of Japan in east and the Yellow Sea in west, the Korea Strait in south. It has one of the world’s most heavily militarized borders with North Korea in north and it shares a maritime border with Japan.

With an area of 99,678 km² the country is about the size of Iceland, or slightly smaller than the U.S. state of Pennsylvania. Its landscape offers hills and mountains in particular in the eastern part, most of the terrain is not arable. And there are the Lowlands, wide coastal plains in west and southeast. Highest point is Halla-san with 1,950 m, the extinct volcano on Jeju, the nation's largest island in the Korea Strait, southwest of the Korean Peninsula.

South Korea has a population of 51,360,000 people (in 2015), capital and largest city is Seoul.

Map shows South Korea and surrounding countries with international borders, provincial boundaries, the national capital Seoul, provincial capitals, major cities, main roads, railroads and major airports.

You are free to use this map for educational purposes, please refer to the Nations Online Project.
South Korea Flag

Bookmark/share this page

Nations Online Logo
One World - Nations Online
all countries of the world    

Map of South Korea
Administrative Map of South Korea

Depicted roads are based on the official Expressway Map of Korea
Administrative Divisions of South Korea:

South Korea is divided into 8 provinces (do), 1 special autonomous province (teukbyeol jachido),
6 metropolitan cities (gwangyeoksi), and 1 special city (teukbyeolsi).

Provinces (province capital in brackets):
1. Chungcheongbuk-do (Cheongju);
2. Chungcheongnam-do (Daejeon);
3. Gyeongsangbuk-do (Daegu);
4. Gyeongsangnam-do (Changwon)
5. Jeollabuk-do (Jeonju);
6. Jeollanam-do (Muan County).

Jeju-do (Jeju), the island Jeju is a special autonomous province.

Metropolitan Cities:
Busan, Daegu, Daejeon, Gwangju, Incheon, and Ulsan.

Seoul, South Korea's capital is a special city (teukbyeolsi)
More about Korea:

Satellite View and Map of Seoul (Capital city of South Korea)

Satellite View and Map of Busan

Satellite View and Map of P'yongyang (Capital city of North Korea)

Satellite View and Map of the Korean Peninsula

South Korea (Republic of Korea):
Political Map of South Korea
South Korea Country Profile
South Korea in numbers
South Korea key statistical data.

North Korea (Democratic People's Republic of Korea):

North Korea Country Profile
Administrative Map of North Korea
Political Map of North Korea
North Korea in numbers
North Korea key statistical data.

Map of Asia
Political Map of Asia.
Languages of Asia
Flags of Asia
Seoul Current Weather Conditions

Current Weather Conditions Busan

Explore More:

Related Consumer Information:


Maps of other countries in Southeast and Eastern Asia:
Bangladesh Map, Bhutan Map, Cambodia Map, China Map, India Map, Indonesia Map, Japan Map
Korea (North), Laos Map, Malaysia Map, Maldives Map, Mongolia Map, Myanmar Map
Nepal Map, Pakistan Map, Philippines Map
Singapore Map, Sri Lanka Map, Taiwan Map, Thailand Map, Vietnam Map

One World - Nations Online .:. let's care for this planet
Every nation is responsible for the current state of our world.
Site Map | Information Sources | Disclaimer: Privacy Policy, etc.
Contact: [email protected] | Copyright © 1998-2021 :: nationsonline.org
North Korea Japan Seoul