Home Earth Continents Asia Indonesia Country Profile Small Indonesia Map Administrative Indonesia Map Indonesia Political Map

Map Index

___ Political Map of the Republic of Indonesia

About Indonesia

Indonesia is an island nation in Southeast Asia, between South China Sea and the Pacific Ocean (in north) and the Indian Ocean (in south). The country consists of many islands in the Malay Archipelago also known as Maritime Southeast Asia, East Indies, Indonesian archipelago, and Spices Archipelago.

Map is showing the islands and surrounding countries, international borders, the national capital Jakarta, provincial capitals, major cities, main roads, railroads and major airports.

Border Countries:
Malaysia, Papua New Guinea, Timor-Leste. Indonesia shares maritime borders with: Australia, India, Palau, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.

related countries: Netherlands, Japan,

You are free to use this map for educational purposes, please refer to the Nations Online Project.
Indonesia Flag

Bookmark/share this page

Nations Online Logo
One World - Nations Online
all countries of the world    

Map of Indonesia and the Indonesian archipelago
Political Map of Indonesia

Indonesian Islands

Of the estimated 17,000 islands are about 1000 inhabited.
The country is situated on diverse island groups:

the Greater Sunda Islands with Indonesia's largest islands, Sumatra, Java, Borneo (partly occupied by Malaysia and Brunei) and Sulawesi (formerly known as Celebes),

the chain of the Lesser Sunda Islands with Bali, Lombok, Flores, Alor, Weta, Sumbawa, Sumba, Savu, Roti, and Timor, they form a volcanic island arc.

The Maluku Islands, also known as the Moluccas, they consist of over 1000 islands, the largest two are Halmahera and Seram.

New Guinea
, the Indonesian half of New Guinea island.

Indonesian cities and towns

The map shows the location of following Indonesian cities and towns:

On the island of Celebes:
Gorontalo, Kendari, Manado, Palu, Pare Pare, and Ujungpandang

On the island of Borneo (Kalimantan):
Balikpapan, Banjarmasin, Palangkaraya, Pontianak, Samarinda, Tanjungredep, Bangka, and Pangkal Pinang

On the island of Sumatra:
Banda Aceh, Bandar Lampung, Bengkulu, Jambi, Kotabumi, Lahat, Langsa, Medan, Padang, Padangsidempuan, Palembang, Payakumbuh, Pekanbaru, Sungaipenuh, Tebingtinggi,

On the island of Java: Bandung, Jakarta, Semarang, Serang, Surabaya, and Yogyakarta

On the island of Bali: Denpasar

On the island of Lombok: Mataram
On Timor island: Kupang and Dili (East Timor)

On Halmahera island: Ternate
and on the island of New Guinea:
Jayapura, Manokwari, Merauke, Sorong, Timika, Wamena,
On Biak island: Biak and on Ceram island: Ambon
More about Indonesia

Satellite View and Map of Jakarta
Satellite View and Map of Bandung
Satellite View and Map of Medan
Satellite View and Map of Surabaya

Searchable Map and Satellite View of Indonesia
Administrative Map of Indonesia

Indonesia Country Profile
Outline of Indonesia's History
Indonesia in Figures
Indonesia key statistical data.

Map of Southeast Asia
Map of Asia
Jakarta Weather Conditions:

Maps of other countries in Southeast and Eastern Asia:
Bangladesh Map, Bhutan Map, Cambodia Map, China Map, India Map, Japan Map
Korea (North), Korea (South), Laos Map, Malaysia Map, Maldives Map, Mongolia Map, Myanmar Map
Nepal Map, Pakistan Map, Philippines Map
Singapore Map, Sri Lanka Map, Taiwan Map, Thailand Map, Vietnam Map

One World - Nations Online .:. let's care for this planet
Every nation is responsible for the current state of our world.
Site Map | Information Sources | Disclaimer: Privacy Policy, etc.
Contact: [email protected] | Copyright © 1998-2021 :: nationsonline.org
Kuala Lumpur Malaysia Singapore Brunei Malaysia Philippines Vietnam Laos, Lao PDR Cambodia Vientiane Manila Ho Chi Minh City Phnom Penh Bangkok Thailand Surabaya Bandung Bandar Seri Begawan Medan Jakarta East Timor, Timor Leste Darwin, Australia Australia Papua New Guinea Dili, Timor Leste