Argentina Flag detail
Home Earth Continents The Americas Argentina Country Profile Map of Argentina

Map Index

Political Map of Argentina, South America

A Black Angus bull crosses the road in the Argentinean province of Salta.
"The limitless country sometimes contained only a solitary bull" (Jorge Luis Borges). A Black Angus bull crosses the road in the Argentine province of Salta.
Image: Agustín Lautaro

About Argentina

Argentina Flag
The map shows Argentina, an independent state that occupies a large part of South America's southern portion. With an area of 2,780,400 km², it is the eighth-largest country in the world and the second-largest country in South America (after Brazil). In comparison, it is somewhat larger than five times the size of France or about four times the size of the US State of Texas.

Argentina borders the Andean Mountains and Chile to the west, Bolivia and Paraguay to the north, the Uruguay River forms part of its border with Brazil and all of its border with Uruguay to the northeast. The southeastern part of Argentina is bounded by the South Atlantic Ocean. The country shares maritime borders with the Falkland Islands (United Kingdom (The controversial British claim to sovereignty over the Falkland Islands dates back to 1690)). Until Argentina's independence in 1816, the territory was part of the Spanish colonial empire.

Today, Argentina has a population of 45.4 million people (in 2020). The capital and largest city is Buenos Aires. The Official language is Spanish; regional spoken languages are Italian, German, Welsh, Quechua, and Guaraní.

Political Map of Argentina

Political Map of Argentina, with major cities, roads, railroads, airports Map of Argentina

The map shows Argentina and surrounding countries with international borders, rivers and lakes, major geographic features, highest mountains, the national capital Buenos Aires, province capitals, major cities, main roads, passenger service railways, the location of World Heritage Sites, and major airports.

You are free to use the above map for educational purposes (fair use); please refer to the Nations Online Project.

More about Argentina

Ojos del Salado volcano ion the Argentina–Chile border is the highest active volcano in the world.
Ojos del Salado volcano on the Argentina–Chile border is the highest active volcano in the world at 6,893 m.
Photo: sergejf

Geography of Argentina
Argentina is the second-largest country in South America after Brazil.
Argentina's major geographic regions are the Andes (mountain range), the subtropical Northwest (mountains and fertile valleys), Gran Chaco (a semiarid lowland plain), Cuyo (a mountainous wine area in central-west), the Pampas (plains with humid and dry grasslands), and Patagonia (the southern tip of South America).

Along its entire western border area with Chile extend the Andes, the longest continental mountain range on earth. Several mountains in the Andes reach heights of over 6000 m. Among them is Aconcagua (6,961 m), the highest peak in the Americas is located in the Principal Cordillera of the Andes. The country also features the two highest volcanoes on earth, Ojos del Salado at 6880 m and Monte Pissis at 6795 m.

The Rio de la Plata Basin, the water catchment area of the northeastern part of the country, is dominated by the rivers that feed the Río de la Plata, a relatively short river (290 km) that flows into the Atlantic Ocean. The Río de la Plata's principal tributaries are the Pilcomayo, the Bermejo, the Salado, the Paraná, the Paraguay River, and the Uruguay River.
Major rivers in the southern part of Argentina are (from north to south) the Desaguadero River, the Río Colorado, the Río Negro, the Chubut River, Río Chico, the Deseado River, another Río Chico, the Santa Cruz, and the Gallegos River.

Major lakes in the country are Lake Buenos Aires, Argentino Lake, Viedma Lake, Lago O'Higgins (Lago San Martin), Lake Gutierrez, and Mar Chiquita Lake.

Salt flats
Lago Salinas Grandes, Lago Salinas de Ambargasta, Salinas Grandes del Noroeste, Salinas Grandes del Sur (Lago Salinas Grandes, Lago Salina, and Lago Salina Santa Ines).

Buenos Aires is Argentina's capital and largest city, with a population of about 3 million people. Greater Buenos Aires, with a population of 12 million people, is an urban agglomeration surrounding the capital. It consists of several large cities (also known as Partido), such as La Plata, (capital of the province of Buenos Aires), Vicente López, Mar del Plata, Pilar, Merlo, Quilmes, Banfield, José C. Paz, Lanús, to name a few.

Other major Argentinian cities are Córdoba, Rosario, San Miguel de Tucumán, Salta, Santa Fe (de la Vera Cruz), Corrientes, Resistencia, Posadas, Jujuy (San Salvador de Jujuy), Santiago del Estero, Paraná, Neuquén, Formosa, La Rioja, Comodoro Rivadavia, San Luis, and Catamarca.

Argentina is a vast country, the extension from north to south is about 3700 km; its territory offers almost all climate zones in one nation, from tropical areas in the extreme northeast (Misiones) to subtropical regions in the rest of the north and an extensive temperate climate zone to cold climate regions in the south (Patagonia) and in the Andes mountain range.

Salinas Grandes salt flat in the Argentinean province of Jujuy.
Salinas Grandes after the rain. The salt flat in the Argentinean provinces of Jujuy and Salta in the northwest of Argentina covers an area of 212 km and has an average thickness is 30 cm.
Image: schnoogg

The map shows the location of the following cities, towns:

Azul, Bahía Blanca, Buenos Aires, Cafayate, Cariló, Catriel, Comodoro Rivadavia, Concordia, Córdoba, Corrientes, Cuatiá, Curuzú, El Calafate, El Chaltén, Esquel, Formosa, Gobernador Gregores, Goya, Junín, La Banda, La Plata, La Rioja, Las Grutas, Las Heras, Mar del Plata, Mendoza, Necochea, Neuquén, Olavarría, Paraná, Posadas, Puerto Deseado, Puerto Madryn, Puerto San Julián, Puerto Santa Cruz, Rafaela, Rawson, Resistencia, Río Cuarto, Río Gallegos, Rio Grande, Rosario, Rufino, Sáenz Peña, Salta, San Carlos de Bariloche, San Fernando del Valle de Catamarca, San Juan, San Luis, San Martín de los Andes, San Miguel de Tucumán, San Rafael, San Salvador de Jujuy, Santa Elena, Santa Fe de la Vera Cruz, Santa Rosa, Santa Teresita, Santiago del Estero, Sunchales, Tandil, Trelew, Ushuaia, Viedma, Villa Gesell, Villa Maria, Villa Mercedes, and Zapala.



Weather Conditions Buenos Aires:





Maps of other Countries in South America:
Brazil Map, Bolivia Map, Chile Map, Colombia Map, Ecuador Map, French Guiana Map, Guyana Map, Paraguay Map, Peru Map, Suriname Map, Uruguay Map, Venezuela Map

Maps of Countries in Central America:
Belize Map, Costa Rica Map, El Salvador Map, Guatemala Map, Honduras Map, Nicaragua Map, Panama Map