Home Earth Continents Asia Mongolia Country Profile Small Mongolia Map Mongolia Map 1200 px

Map Index

___ Political Map of Mongolia

About Mongolia

Mongolia is a vast and sparsely populated, landlocked country in eastern Asia between Russia to the north and China to the south, east of Kazakhstan. With an area of 1,564,100 km² Mongolia is twice the size of Turkey or slightly smaller than Alaska.

The country is known as the "Land of the Eternal Blue Sky" and as the "Land of the Horse". The geography of Mongolia offers a variety of landscapes, even if much of the country consists of steppes, there is the Gobi Desert to the south and the more cooler and mountainous regions with the lush grassy steppe area of the Khangai Mountains to the north and the the Altai mountain range in west and south west. Highest mountain is Khüiten Peak of Nayramadlin Orgil mountain (Huyten Orgil) with 4,374 m in the western corner of Mongolia.

Capital city of Mongolia is Ulaanbaatar (also Ulan Bator; pop. 1 million). Official language is Mongolian.

Map is showing Mongolia and the surrounding countries with international borders, provincial boundaries, the national capital, provincial capitals, major cities, main roads, railroads and major airports.

You are free to use this map for educational purposes, please refer to the Nations Online Project.
Mongolia Flag
Bookmark/share this page

Nations Online Logo
One World - Nations Online
all countries of the world    

Map of Mongolia
Political Map of Mongolia

Map based on a UN map. Source: UN Cartographic Section
Cities and Towns in Mongolia

Largest cities and towns in Mongolia with more than 10,000 inhabitants:

Ulaanbaatar (1 million people), Erdenet (second largest city 83,000), Darkhan (75,000), Choibalsan (39,000), Mörön (36,000), Nalaikh (30,000), Bayankhongor (30,000), Ölgii (29,000), Khovd (29,000), Arvaikheer (27,000), Ulaangom (27,000), Baganuur (22,000), Tsetserleg (20,000), Sükhbaatar (20,000), Dalanzadgad (19,000), Sainshand (19,000), Züünkharaa (18,000), Uliastai (17,500), Öndörkhaan (17,000), Altai (15,500), Baruun-Urt (14,000), Zuunmod (13,500), Zamyn-Üüd (13,300), Bulgan (11,300) and Mandalgovi (11,000)
More about Mongolia

Satellite View and Map of Ulaanbaatar (capital city)

Satellite View and Map of Mongolia

Mongolia Country Profile
Mongolia in Figures
Mongolia key statistical data.

Map of Asia

Ulaanbaatar Current Weather Conditions

Related Consumer Information:

Maps of other countries in Southeast and Eastern Asia:
Bangladesh Map, Bhutan Map, Cambodia Map, China Map, India Map, Indonesia Map, Japan Map
Korea (North), Korea (South), Laos Map, Malaysia Map, Myanmar Map
Nepal Map, Pakistan Map, Philippines Map
Singapore Map, Sri Lanka Map, Taiwan Map, Thailand Map, Vietnam Map

One World - Nations Online .:. let's care for this planet
Made to improve cross-cultural understanding and global awareness.
Site Map | Information Sources | Disclaimer: Privacy Policy, etc.
Contact: [email protected] | Copyright © 1998-2018 :: nationsonline.org