One Planet
Nations Online

All Countries in the World

___ Political Map of Political Map of New Zealand (Aotearoa)

About New Zealand

New Zealand FlagNew Zealand (NZ) is an island country in the South Pacific Ocean located about 2000 km (1,300 mi) east of Australia. New Zealand consists of some smaller islands and two main islands, the North Island (Te-Ika-a-Maui), and the South Island (Te Wai Pounamu) which are separated by the Cook Strait. The Realm of New Zealand (a geopolitical entity) comprises New Zealand, the Cook Islands, Niue (an island), Tokelau (some coral atolls) and the Ross Dependency, a region in Antarctica.

Bookmark/share this page

New Zealand lies along the collision lines of the Pacific and Australian tectonic plates. The resulting geologic activity has caused volcanic eruptions and earthquakes throughout New Zealand's history. In 2010 and 2011 earthquakes have caused widespread damage in the city of Christchurch, the largest city in the South Island.
With an area of 270,467 km², NZ is slightly bigger than the United Kingdom (242,900 km²), or about the size of the US State of Colorado. New Zealand's main islands are the largest part of land that is emerged from the largely submerged continent of Zealandia.

Spoken languages are English and Maori.

Main geographical features of New Zealand. [show]

Map is showing New Zealand, with its national capital Wellington, region capitals, cities and towns, New Zealand State Highways, main roads, railroads and major airports.

Principal airports of the country are the international airports of Auckland, Christchurch, and Wellington.

NZ shares maritime borders with: American Samoa (United States), Australia, Fiji, French Polynesia (France), Kiribati, Samoa, and Tonga.

You are free to use this map for educational purposes, please refer to the Nations Online Project.

Political Map of New Zealand
Political Map of New Zealand

Map shows the location of following cities
and towns in New Zealand:

Alexandra, Ashburton, Auckland, Balclutha, Blenheim, Bluff, Cambridge, Carterton, Christchurch, Cromwell, Dannevirke, Dargaville, Dunedin, Gisborne, Gore, Greymouth, Hamilton, Hastings, Hawera, Hikurangi, Hokitika, Huntly, Invercargill, Kaikohe, Kaikoura, Kaitaia, Kawakawa, Kawerau, Kingston, Kurow, Lake Tekapo, Levin, Marton, Masterton, Mataura, Methven, Motueka, Murupara, Napier, Nelson, New Plymouth, Oamaru, Orawia, Otautau, Otorohanga, Pahiatua, Palmerston, Palmerston North, Patea, Picton, Pukekohe, Rangiora, Rapahoe, Reefton, Richmond, Riverton, Rolleston, Ross, Rotorua, Seddonville, Stratford, Taihape, Taumarunui, Taupo, Tauranga, Te Anau, Te Puke, Thames, Timaru, Tokoroa, Waiau, Waihi, Waikanae, Waimate, Wairoa, Waiuku, Wanaka, Wellington, Westport, Whakatane, Whangamata, Whanganui, Whangarei, Whataroa.
More about New Zealand:

Searchable map/satellite view of Mount Ruapehu and Tongariro National Park

Searchable map/satellite view of Wellington (capital city)
Searchable map/satellite view of Auckland

Satellite View of New Zealand
Searchable map/satellite view of New Zealand.

New Zealand Country Profile

Map of Australia/Oceania

Wellington Weather Conditions

Related Consumer Information:

Maps of other countries in Australia/Oceania and the Pacifics:

Australia Map, New Caledonia Map, Papua New Guinea Map, Samoa Map

Wellington Auckland