Home Earth Continents Europe Greece Country Profile Political Map of Greece Administrative Map of Greece

Map Index

___ Administrative Map of Greece

Greece is a country in south eastern Europe on the southern tip of the Balkan Peninsula, bordering the Mediterranean Sea in south and the Ionian Sea in west. It is bordered by Albania, the Republic of Macedonia, and Bulgaria in north and in east by Turkey.

With an area of 132 000 km² it is slightly bigger than half the size of the United Kingdom, or slightly smaller than the U.S. state of Alabama.

The Greek population is about 10.8 million people. Spoken languages are Greek (official) and Turkish (spoken only by a minority of Turks in Western Thrace).

Map is showing Greece and the surrounding countries with international borders, administrative boundaries, the national capital Athens (Athina), administrative capitals, major cities, and the location of Mount Athos (Agion Oros) and Mount Olympus (Oros Olympos, highest peak Mytikas, 2 917 m (9 570 ft)).

Greece shares maritime borders with Cyprus, Egypt, Italy, and Libya.

You are free to use this map for educational purposes, please refer to the Nations Online Project.
Nations Online Logo
One World - Nations Online
All Countries of the World
Administrative Map of Greece
Administrative Map of Greece (Hellenic Republic)

  Administrative Divisions

The country is divided into 13 first-level administrative divisions called peripheries (Greek: περιφέρειες), a kind of regions or provinces.
The country itself is divided into the mountainous mainland Greece on the southern tip of the Balkan Peninsula, including the Peloponnese peninsula,
and a number of islands scattered in the Aegean Sea, which is more or less a bay of the Mediterranean Sea.

Peripheries of Greece
1. Attica (Greek: Αττική) with the Greek capital Athens as the region capital. The region consists of the historic region of Attica on the Attic peninsula and a small part of the Peloponnese and the islands of Salamis, Aegina, Hydra and some smaller islands, and the islands south of Peloponnese peninsula Kythera, and Antikythera.

2. Crete (Greek: Κρήτη), the region consists of the largest Greek island and the small islet of Gavdos. Capital city of Crete periphery is Heraklion.

3. Southern Aegean (Greek: Νοτίου Αιγαίου), the region consists of the Cyclades and Dodecanese island groups in the southern Aegean Sea, including Rhodes, the largest of the Dodecanese islands. Capital city of the Southern Aegean periphery is Ermoupoli on Syros island in the Cyclades.

4. Northern Aegean (Greek: Βορείου Αιγαίου), the region comprises several islands west of the Turkish coast,
the islands are (from north to south): Lemnos, Agios Efstratios, Lesbos, Psara, Chios, Samos, and Ikaria.

5. Epirus (Greek: Ηπείρου), the mountainous region is situated in northwest of Greek mainland, south of Albania, it borders the Ionian Sea, in south west. Its capital is the city of Ioannina.

6. Central Greece (Greek: Στερεάς Ελλάδας), the periphery lies to the north of Attica region and comprises parts of Boeotia on the Attic peninsula and the island of Euboea (Évia) and the Sporades island of Skyros. Capital city of Central Greece is Lamia.

7. Western Greece (Greek: Δυτικής Ελλάδας), the region is bordering the Ionian Sea in west ,it comprises of a south western portion of mainland Greece and the north western corner of Peloponnese peninsula. Capital of Western Greece is the city of Patras.

8. Ionian Islands (Greek: Ιονίων Νήσων), the region comprises the islands in the Ionian Sea (from north to south):
Corfu, Paxi, Lefkada, Cephalonia (Kefalonia), and neighboring Ithaca and Zakynthos. The region is based at Corfu and is divided into 5 regional units: Corfu (Kerkyra), Ithaca (Ithaki), Cephalonia, Lefkada, and Zakynthos. Capital of Ionian Islands periphery is the city of Corfu on the island with the same name.

Macedonia (Greece) is a region in northern Greece, not to be confused with bordering Republic of Macedonia, which is also part of the geographical and historical region of Macedonia on the Balkan peninsula. Greek Macedonia is more or less the northern part of mainland Greece, bordered in north by Albania, the Republic of Macedonia, Bulgaria, and in east by Turkey.

9. Central Macedonia (Greek: Κεντρικής Μακεδονίας), consisting of the central part of the region of Macedonia. Capital of Central Macedonia is Greece's second largest city Thessaloniki.
10. Western Macedonia (Greek: Δυτικής Μακεδονίας), its the western part of Greek Macedonia with the capital Kozani.
11. Eastern Macedonia and Thrace (Greek: Ανατολικής Μακεδονίας και Θράκης), the region comprises of the eastern part of Greek Macedonia along with the geographic and historical region of Thrace, and the islands of Thasos and Samothrace. Regional capital and commercial and administrative center is the Thracian city of Komotini.

12. Peloponnese (Greek: Πελοποννήσου), the periphery consists of 'only' two-third of the island of the same name. (austerity?). Peloponnese is mostly described as a peninsula connected with Greek mainland by the Isthmus of Corinth, but actually it is an island since the Corinth Canal, which connects the Gulf of Corinth with the Saronic Gulf, separates the former Peloponnesian peninsula from the Greek mainland.

13. Thessaly (Greek: Θεσσαλία), the region comprises most of the ancient region of the same name. Thessaly's capital and largest city is Larissa.
  Cities and towns in Greece:

The map shows the location of following Greek cities and towns:

Largest cities: Athens (pop: 3 million), Thessaloniki (pop: 790 000), Patras (pop: 215 000), Heraklion (pop: 173 000), Larissa (pop: 163 000),
Volos (pop: 144 000), Rhodes (pop: 144 000), Ioannina (pop: 112 000), Chania (pop: 112 000), Chalcis (pop: 112 000)

Other cities and towns:
Agios Nikolaos, Agrinio, Alexandroupoli, Amaliada, Amfissa, Argos, Argostoli, Arta, Chios, Corfu (Kerkira), Corinth, Drama, Edessa, Egio, Ermoupoli, Florina, Gianitsa, Grevena, Igoumenitsa, Kalamata, Karditsa, Karpenisi, Kastoria, Katerini, Kavala, Kilkis, Komotini, Kozani, Lamia, Lefkada, Livadia, Marathon, Megara, Messolongi, Mytilene, Nafplio, Orestiada, Piraeus, Pirgos, Polygyros, Preveza, Ptolemaida, Rethymno, Salamina, Serres, Sparta, Thebes (Thiva), Tirnavos, Trikala, Tripoli, Vathi, Veria, Xanthi, and Zakinthos.
More about Greece:

Annotated map/satellite view of Acropolis of Athens

Satellite View and Map of Athens

Searchable map and satellite view of Greece
Political Map of Greece

Country Profile: Greece

Cyprus Country Profile
Map of Cyprus

Map of Europe

Athens Current Weather Conditions

Related Consumer Information:


One World - Nations Online .:. let's care for this planet
Every nation is responsible for the current state of our world.
Site Map | Information Sources | Disclaimer: Privacy Policy, etc.
Contact: [email protected] | Copyright © 1998-2021 :: nationsonline.org