Nations Online Logo
One World
Nations Online
 Home Earth Continents Africa Botswana Botswana Government

___ Government Bodies and Federal Ministries of Republic of Botswana

List of Botswana's National Government Agencies and Ministries.

Botswana is a parliamentary representative democracy with a multi-party system. The President of the Republic is both head of state and head of government.
Executive power is exercised by the government with the Prime Minister as the head of the Executive Branch along with the Council of Ministers.
The legislative power is is vested in both the government and the National Assembly. The judiciary is independent of the executive and the legislature. Last election was held on 16th October 2009.

Accoding to the U.S. State Department, Botswana is the only nation on the African continent since the end of colonial rule to have achieved a clean record of free and fair elections since independence, having held 10 elections since 1966 without any serious incidents of corruption. Botswana is considered to be, along with post apartheid South Africa, the most democratic nation in Africa.

According to Transparency International, Botswana is the least corrupt country in Africa and ranks similarly close to Portugal and South Korea.

Thai National Flag
Botswana National Flag
Botswana Coats of Arms
Coat of arms of Botswana
State President
  • Botswana Defence Force (BDF)
  • Botswana Police Service(BPS)
  • Directorate on Corruption and Economic Crime (DCEC)
  • The Directorate of Public Service Management (DPSM)
  • National AIDS Coordinating Agency (NACA)
  • Office of the President (OP)
Office of the President
National Assembly Parliament of Botswana
Ministries of Botswana: 
Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation (MoFAIC) Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Ministry of Local Government (MLG) Ministry of Local Government (MLG)
Ministry of Environment, Wildlife and Tourism
  • Department of Tourism
  • The Hospitality and Tourism Association of Botswana (HATAB)
  • Botswana Tourism Organisation
  • Department of Environmental Affairs
  • Department of Waste Management and Pollution Control, (DWMPC)
  • Department of Foresty and Range Resources
  • Department of Wildlife and National Parks
  • Department of Meteorological Services
Ministry of Environment, Wildlife and Tourism
Administration of Justice (AOJ)
Justice in Botswana is primarily administered by the Administration of Justice.
Administration of Justice (AOJ)
Ministry of Finance and Development Planning (MFDP) Ministry of Finance
Ministry of Education and Skills DevelopmentMinistry of Education and Skills Development
Ministry of Youth, Sport and Culture (MYSC)
  • Botswana National Archives and Records Services
  • Botswana National Library Service
  • Department of Arts and Culture
  • Department of Youth
  • Department of Sport and Recreation
  • National Museum and Monuments
Ministry of Youth, Sport and Culture
Ministry of Labour & Home Affairs (MLHA)Ministry of Labour & Home Affairs
Link to Services & Forms.
Ministry of Infrastructure, Science and Technology (MIST)
  • Botswana Technology Centre (BOTEC)
Ministry of Infrastructure, Science and Technology
Ministry of Transport and Communications (MTC)
  • Botswana Telecommunications Authority
Ministry of Transport and Communications
Ministry of Trade and Industry (MTI) Ministry of Trade and Industry
Ministry of Lands and Housing (MLH)
  • Corporate Services
  • Department of Lands
  • Department of Surveys and Mapping
  • Department of Town and Regional Planning
  • Deeds Registry
  • Department of Land Board Services
  • Department of Technical Services
  • Department of Housing
Ministry of Lands and Housing
Ministry of Health (MOH)Ministry of Health
Ministry of Minerals, Energy and Water Resources (MMEWR)
  • Department of Water Affairs
  • Department of Geological Survey
  • Department of Mines
  • Energy Affairs Division
  • Mineral Affairs Division
  • Diamond Hub
  • Corporate Services
Ministry of Minerals, Energy and Water Resources
Ministry of Agriculture (MOA)
  • Department of Corporate Services(DCS)
  • Department of Crop Production (DCP)
  • Department of Animal Production (DAP)
  • Department of Veterinary Services (DVS)
  • Department of Extension Service Co-ordination (DESC)
  • Department of Agricultural Research (DAR)
  • Department of Agricultural Business Promotion (DAB)
Ministry of Agriculture
Other Botswana government agencies: 
Banka ya Botswana
Bank of Botswana
Botswana Stock Exchange
Botswana Stock Exchange
Central Statistics Office CSO Central Statistics Office
More about Botswana:

Searchable map/satellite view of Gaborone (capital city)

Searchable map/satellite view of Botswana
Detailed map of Botswana

Botswana Country Profile

Political Map of Africa
Search Nations Online
Bookmark/share this page:

 Support UNICEF Valid HTML5!
Valid CSS

One World - Nations Online .:. let's care for this planet
Made to improve cross-cultural understanding and global awareness.
Site Map | Information Sources | Advertise with OWNO | Disclaimer: Privacy Policy, etc. | Contact: | Copyright © 1998-2013 ::