One World
Nations Online
Home Earth Continents Asia Malaysia Country Profile States of Malaysia

___ States and Territories of Malaysia

Malaysia is a federation of thirteen states (in Malay: Negeri) and three Federal Territories (in Malay: Wilayah Persekutuan).

Eleven states are situated on the Malay Peninsula (West Malaysia) as well as two Federal Territories,
while two states, Sabah and Sarawak are on the island of Borneo (the Malay part of the island is called East Malaysia or Malaysian Borneo);
one Federal Territory, the island group with its main island Labuang is situated north east of Brunei and west of Sabah.


The Sultanate of Johor is situated in the southern part of the Malay Peninsula, its capital is Johor Bahru (JB).
The state is governed by a constitutional monarchy, the royal seat is Pasir Pelangi, the palace of the Sultan.
Johor is one of the most developed states in Malaysia, its capita JB is connected with Singapore via two road connections.
Johor is the most populous state in Malaysia with a population of approximately 330 000 people.

External Links:

Negeri Johor
Official government website of Johor state.

Johor Tourism
The official site offers information about Johor's tourist attractions.


Sultanate of Kedah; capital city and royal capital is Alor Star.
Kedah is located in the northwestern part of Peninsular Malaysia,
Langkawi archipelago, a well known tourist destination is part of the state.

External Links:

Negeri Kedah
Official government website of Kedah state.

Langkawi and Mainland Kedah Tourism and Travel Guide
The Official State Government Tourism Portal.


Sultanate of Kelantan (Kota Baharu)
Kelantan is located in the north-eastern corner of Peninsular Malaysia.
It borders Narathiwat Province of Thailand to the north.
Kota Bharu is the state capital and Royal City

External Links:

Negeri Kelantan
Official site of Kelantan State Government.

Tourism Kelantan
Virtual Malaysia's Kelantan Page.

Malacca (Melaka)

Malacca is after Perlis and Penang the third smallest Malaysian state.
It is situated in the southern region of the Malay Peninsula, on the Straits of Malacca wich connects the South China Sea (Pacific Ocean) with the Andaman Sea (Indian Ocean).

State capital is Melaka (Melaka City), the city's historical center is listed as an outstanding
UNESCO World Heritage Site.
During the 16th Century, Malacca became due to its strategic location the most important trading port in Southeast Asia.
This has made Melaka a coveted possession among the western powers of that era and was subsequently seized
by the Portugese, Dutch and English.

External Links:

Negeri Melaka
Official government portal of the State of Melaka.

Tourism in Melaka
Government site provides information about Melaka's history and culture and about recreation opportunities.

Negeri Sembilan

10. Elective Monarchy of Negeri Sembilan (Seremban)

External Links:



Sultanate of Pahang (Kuantan)


Penang (Pulau Pinang)

Capital city is George Town the culinary capital of Malaysia, the city is listed as a UNESCO World Cultural Heritage Site.
Penang is located on the northwest coast of Peninsular Malaysia bordering the Strait of Malacca.
It is the second smallest state in Malaysia after Perlis, also it has a population of about 1.5 million inhabitants.
Penang Island is part of the state.

External Links:

Negeri Pulau Pinang
Official government website of Penang state (in Malay language).

Visit Penang
Information about Penang by Penang State Tourism Development, Culture, Arts & Heritage.
Tourism Penang
The official website of Tourism Penang.


Sultanate of Perak is the second largest state in Peninsular Malaysia with an area of 21 000 km².
Almost 2.5 million people live in the state. Capital city is Ipoh (pop. 700 000), Royal capital is Kuala Kangsar (pop. 40 000).

External Links:

Negeri Perak
Official website of the Perak State Government (in Malay language).
royal  Sultan Azlan Muhibuddin Shah
Official website of His Royal Highness.

Perak Tourism Portal
Official Perak Tourism site offering news, travel notes and articles about Perak.
VirtualMalaysia information about Perak
The Ministry of Tourism website about Perak.


The Kingdom of Perlis is the smallest Malaysian state situated in the northern part of the
of Peninsular Malaysia at the west coast bordering the Thai provinces of Satun and Songkhla in north.
Its capital city is Kangar; the Royal capital is Arau residence of the Raja of Perlis.

External Links:

Negeri Perlis
Official government website of Perlis state.
royal  Raja of Perlis
Official website of His Majesty, the Raja of Perlis.

Perlis Tourism
Tourism Malaysia information about Perlis


8. Sultanate of Selangor (Shah Alam)

External Links:


Sultanate of Terengganu (Kuala Terengganu)

External Links:



Federal Territory of Putrajaya (federal administrative capital)

External Links:


Kuala Lumpur

Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur (legislative capital)

External Links:


East Malaysia is situated on and close to the island of Borneo


Sabah (Kota Kinabalu)

External Links:



Sarawak (Kuching)

External Links:



A Federal Territory of Malaysia

External Links:


Search Nations Online
Bookmark/share this page:

 Support UNICEF Valid HTML5!
Valid CSS

One World - Nations Online .:. let's care for this planet
Made to improve cross-cultural understanding and global awareness.
Site Map | Information Sources | Advertise with OWNO | Disclaimer: Privacy Policy, etc. | Contact: | Copyright © 1998-2013 ::